What is the Delegation for Relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly?

The European Parliament decided on 12 December 2001 to set up an interparliamentary Delegation for Relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (D-NAT) composed of 10 Members (see Members). D-NAT Members shall consist of Members of the Subcommittee on Security and Defence (SEDE). The D-NAT is supported by a secretariat which consists of staff members of the SEDE secretariat.
The aim of the D-NAT is to bring forward the position of the EU, and of the European Parliament in particular, to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in view of further developing the relationship between EU and NATO, while respecting the independent nature of both organisations. This is of particular importance in the theatres of operations where both the EU and NATO are engaged, such as Afghanistan, Kosovo and in the fight against piracy off the coasts of Somalia and in the Gulf of Aden.