Presentation and competencies

The European Parliament's delegation for relations with South-East Europe, (current name: Delegation for relations with Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and Kosovo - D-SEE) was constituted on 17 November 1994.
The present inter-parliamentary relations with Bosnia-Herzegovina and Kosovo have an annual cycle (one meeting a year) and are based on voluntary decisions, awaiting the entry into force of the Stabilisation and Association Agreements (SAAs). The relations with these two countries have a status of Inter-parliamentary Meetings (IPM).
The relations with Albania, Montenegro and Serbia have been upgraded (from IPM status) in 2010 and in 2013 following the entry into force of the relevant SAAs. Consequently, Members of the European Parliament and Parliamentarians from Albania, Montenegro and Serbia meet twice a year in separate Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committees (SAPC) – identical as Joint Parliamentary Committees (JPC) which exist for fYROM and Turkey. The relations with Albania, Montenegro and Serbia still fall within the responsibility of the D-SEE but each country has a separate Working Group made of the D-SEE members and chaired by D-SEE chairperson.
The Delegation for relations with South-East Europe is the "successor" to the Delegation for relations with the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, which had been functioning since 1981, then renamed delegation for relations with the republics of former Yugoslavia. It  has been responsible for interparliamentary relations with five countries in South-East Europe, i.e. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (then,  State Union of Serbia-Montenegro and today: Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo) and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. Albania was included in a three-country delegation with Romania and Bulgaria between 1991 and 1994, when it became part of the Delegation for relations with South-East Europe.
In 2002, the European Parliament decided to initiate informal interparliamentary relations with Kosovo. The official relations with the Parliamentary Assembly of Kosovo started in May 2008, following the declaration of independence. Since the European elections of 2004, Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia were "separated" from the D-SEE and country dedicated delegations were created for each country.
Between the European elections of 2009 and 2014, the DSEE holds 32 inter-parliamentary meetings (14 IPMs and 18 SAPCs). These two-day long meetings take place once in workplaces of the European Parliament (Brussels or Strasbourg) and once in a partner country.
Load more