D-AL: The Delegation to the EU-Albania SAPC

The European Parliament's relations with the Kuvendi, Albania's parliament, are channeled through its Delegation to the EU-Albania Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee, abbreviated as D-AL.

As the name of the Delegation indicates, a specific forum - a "Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee" (SAPC) - has been established to bring together elected representatives from the EU's and Albania's legislatures.

Members and Chair

In addition to its 14 full members, the D-AL currently counts 12 substitute members.

The Albanian delegation to the SAPC also includes 14 full members, providing a balanced counterpart to the EP delegation.

Mr Manolis KEFALOGIANNIS (EPP, Greece) was elected as the Chair of D-AL on 26 September 2019. The delegation's 1st Vice-Chair is Ms Bettina VOLLATH (S&D, Austria), and its 2nd Vice-Chair is Mr Vlad-Marius BOTOS (Renew, Romania).

Delegation work

Delegation meets in Brussels or Strasbourg, usually to prepare for the joint meetings with the Albanian counterparts in the framework of the SAPC.

During delegation meetings, the members are updated on the state of play of EU-Albania relations and on the political developments in Albania. The delegation regularly invites outside experts to make presentations or exchange views on relevant topics. Albania's Ambassador to the EU and staff from the European Commission and the EEAS often contribute to the discussions.

SAPC meetings

Lion's share of the delegation's work is invested in the SAPC meetings.

The SAPC meets once or twice a year, either in Albania or in the European Parliament, in Brussels or Strasbourg. Each meeting usually lasts two half-days and includes interventions by the representatives of the government of Albania, the European Commission and the EU rotating presidency.

Agenda of each meeting usually focuses on 4-6 topics, which are relevant to bilateral relations. Bilateral relations and preparations for Albania's EU accession negotiations feature prominently on the agenda. EU Commissioner in charge of enlargement may participate, as may Albania's Minister for European Integration or other high-ranking EU and Albanian officials.

Subsequent topics of discussion are introduced by a "first speaker" - usually a member of parliament. The first speaker's introduction is followed by an exchange of views with all the SAPC members.

At the end of its sessions, the SAPC may adopt a set of recommendations. These must be approved by a simple majority of the members of each delegation who are also present at the meeting. SAPC meetings often conclude with a press conference of the Co-Chairs.

The SAPC meetings are public. Minutes are adopted at subsequent meetings, and audio recordings of the meetings are available on request. Some meetings may be webstreamed on the web page of the European Parliament or of the Kuvendi.


When travelling to Albania for the SAPC meetings, the European Parliament's delegation also holds additional meetings with Ambassadors of the EU Member States, NGOs, media and representatives of Albania's institutions. These provide useful and informed - though also sometimes divergent - views of the local situation.

MEPs also participate in field visits to projects financed from EU funds, in order to scrutinize how the EU taxpayers' money is used abroad.

Article 122 of the EU-Albania Stabilisation and Association Agreement

between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Albania, of the other part


A Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee is hereby established. It shall be a forum for Members of the Albanian Parliament and the European Parliament to meet and exchange views. It shall meet at intervals that it shall itself determine.

The Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee shall consist of Members of the European Parliament, on the one hand, and of Members of the Parliament of Albania, on the other.

The Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee shall establish its Rules of Procedure.

The Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee shall be chaired in turn by the European Parliament and the Parliament of Albania, in accordance with the provisions to be laid down in its Rules of Procedure.