Joint Press Release of 16 December 2021 on the situation in Cuba

The situation in Cuba

MEPs denounce in the strongest terms the ongoing systematic abuses against protestors, political dissidents, religious leaders, human rights activists and independent artists, among others, in Cuba. In particular, the resolution calls for the immediate and unconditional release of José Daniel Ferrer, "Lady in White" Aymara Nieto, Maykel Castillo, Luis Robles, Félix Navarro, Luis Manuel Otero, Reverend Lorenzo Rosales Fajardo and Andy Dunier García, and all those detained for exercising their rights to freedom of expression and peaceful assembly. The text notes, however, that these individuals are but a few examples of the hundreds of Cubans facing injustice and repression imposed by the country's government.

The resolution further condemns the recent abduction and arbitrary detention of Cuban Sakharov Prize laureate Guillermo Fariñas and, in spite of his recent release, calls for an end to the regular and persistent arbitrary arrests and harassment he faces. MEPs also regret that despite the entry into force of the Political Dialogue and Cooperation Agreement (PDCA) between the EU and Cuba in 2017, the situation of democracy and human rights in the country has not improved but has instead deteriorated seriously. They restate that, as part of the PDCA, Cuba must respect and consolidate the principles of the rule of law, democracy and human rights.

The text was adopted by 393 votes in favour, 150 against and 119 abstentions. It will be available in full here. (16.12.2021)