# EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Session document

FINAL A6-0082/2005

4.4.2005

\*\*\*

# RECOMMENDATION

on the application by the Republic of Bulgaria to become a member of the European Union (AA1/2/2005 - C6-0085/2005 - 2005/0901(AVC))

Committee on Foreign Affairs

Rapporteur: Geoffrey Van Orden

 $RR \ 562246 EN. doc$ 

PE 353.656v02-00

#### EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

*	Consultation procedure
	majority of the votes cast
**I	Cooperation procedure (first reading)
	majority of the votes cast
**II	Cooperation procedure (second reading)
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the common position
	majority of Parliament's component Members, to reject or amend the common position
***	Assent procedure
	majority of Parliament's component Members except in cases
	covered by Articles 105, 107, 161 and 300 of the EC Treaty and
	Article 7 of the EU Treaty
***I	Codecision procedure (first reading)
	majority of the votes cast
***II	Codecision procedure (second reading)
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the common position
	majority of Parliament's component Members, to reject or amend the common position
***III	Codecision procedure (third reading)
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the joint text
The tur	be of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the
Commis	

### CONTENTS

### 

PE 353.656v02-00

4/6

#### DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

## on the application by the Republic of Bulgaria to become a member of the European Union (AA1/2/2005 - C6-0085/2005 - 2005/0901(AVC))

#### (Assent procedure)

#### The European Parliament,

- having regard to the application by the Republic of Bulgaria to become a member of the European Union,
- having regard to the request for assent submitted by the Council pursuant to Article 49 of the EU Treaty (C6-0085/2005),
- having regard to the opinion of the Commission (COM(2005)0055),
- having regard to the draft treaty for the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria to the European Union,
- having regard to Rules 75 and 82(6) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (A6-0082/2005),
- A. whereas the conditions for the admission of the applicant countries and the modifications which their accession entails are set in the accession treaty and whereas Parliament should be consulted on any substantial modifications to this treaty,
- B. whereas the Council and the Commission must fully involve the European Parliament in the follow-up to the process of accession of the Republic of Bulgaria, and in decision-making should the safeguard clauses contained in the accession treaty be activated in connection with the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria,
- C. whereas this assent has been preceded by a joint agreement of the two arms of the budgetary authority on the financial package to be included in the accession treaty and the adoption of a declaration on the budgetary and institutional consequences thereof,
- 1. Gives its assent to the application by the Republic of Bulgaria to become a member of the European Union;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council and Commission, and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and the Republic of Bulgaria.

### PROCEDURE

Title	Application by the Republic of Bulgaria to become a member of the European Union
References	AA1/2/2005 - C6-0085/2005 - 2005/0901(AVC)
Legal basis	Article 49 EU
Basis in Rules of Procedure	Rules 75 and 82(6)
Date of request for Parliament's assent	4.2.2005
<b>Committee responsible</b> Date announced in plenary	AFET 11.42005
<b>Committee(s) asked for opinion(s)</b> Date announced in plenary	
<b>Enhanced cooperation</b> Date announced in plenary	No
Rapporteur(s) Date appointed	Geoffrey Van Orden 18.1.2005
Discussed in committee	7.3.2005 29.3.2005 30.3.2005
Date adopted	31.3.2005
Result of final vote	for:71against:1abstentions:1
Members present for the final vote	Vittorio Emanuele Agnoletto, Angelika Beer, Bastiaan Belder, Monika Beňová, André Brie, Elmar Brok, Philip Claeys, Simon Coveney, Marek Aleksander Czarnecki, Véronique De Keyser, Giorgos Dimitrakopoulos, Camiel Eurlings, Maciej Marian Giertych, Alfred Gomolka, Klaus Hänsch, Richard Howitt, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Georgios Karatzaferis, Bogdan Klich, Joost Lagendijk, Vytautas Landsbergis, Cecilia Malmström, Francisco José Millán Mon, Pierre Moscovici, Annemie Neyts-Uyttebroeck, Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne, Raimon Obiols i Germà, Alojz Peterle, Tobias Pflüger, Mirosław Mariusz Piotrowski, Bernd Posselt, Michel Rocard, Raül Romeva i Rueda, Libor Rouček, José Ignacio Salafranca Sánchez- Neyra, Jacek Emil Saryusz-Wolski, György Schöpflin, Gitte Seeberg, Marek Maciej Siwiec, Hannes Swoboda, István Szent-Iványi, Konrad Szymański, Charles Tannock, Paavo Väyrynen, Inese Vaidere, Geoffrey Van Orden, Ari Vatanen, Karl von Wogau, Luis Yañez- Barnuevo García, Josef Zieleniec
Substitutes present for the final vote	Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Carlos Carnero González, Alexandra Dobolyi, Árpád Duka-Zólyomi, Michl Ebner, Hélène Flautre, Michael Gahler, Kinga Gál, Georg Jarzembowski, Jaromír Kohlíček, Miguel Angel Martínez Martínez, Pasqualina Napoletano, Doris Pack, Athanasios Pafilis, Rihards Pīks, Aloyzas Sakalas, Anders Samuelsen, Pierre Schapira, Inger Segelström, Alexander Stubb, Csaba Sándor Tabajdi
Substitutes under Rule 178(2) present for the final vote	Christofer Fjellner, Bronisław Geremek
Date tabled – A6	A 4 2005
Date tableu – Au	4.4.2005 A6-0082/2005