

2009 - 2014

Plenary sitting

A7-0157/2013

30.4.2013

RECOMMENDATION

on the draft Council decision on the conclusion of the Agreement between the European Union and the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation providing a general framework for enhanced cooperation (05822/2013 – C7-0044/2013 – 2012/0213 (NLE))

Committee on Transport and Tourism

Rapporteur: Jaromír Kohlíček

RR\935083EN.doc

PE506.197v03-00

PR_NLE-AP_art90

Symbols for procedures

- * Consultation procedure
- ***
- Consent procedure Ordinary legislative procedure (first reading) ***I
- ***II Ordinary legislative procedure (second reading)
- Ordinary legislative procedure (third reading) ***III

(The type of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the draft act.)

EN

CONTENTS

	3-
DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION	5
EXPLANATORY STATEMENT	6
RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE	7

Page

PE506.197v03-00

DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

on the draft Council decision on the conclusion of the Agreement between the European Union and the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation providing a general framework for enhanced cooperation (05822/2013 – C7–0044/2013 – 2012/0213(NLE))

(Consent)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the draft Council decision (05822/2013),
- having regard to the Council Decision on the signing, on behalf of the Union, and provisional application of the Agreement providing a general framework for enhanced cooperation between the European Union and the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation (13792/2012),
- having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with Article 100(2) and Article 218(6), second subparagraph, point (a), of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C7-0044/2013),
- having regard to Rules 81 and 90(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Transport and Tourism (A7-0157/2013),
- 1. Consents to conclusion of the Agreement;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation.

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Introduction

Eurocontrol is an intergovernmental organisation with 39 contracting parties from all over Europe, including all EU member states except Estonia. It plays a pivotal role in air traffic management (ATM) in Europe.

In line with the Single European Sky (SES) legislation, the Commission designated Eurocontrol as the Performance Review Body of the SES (in 2010) and as the Network Manager for the ATM Network Functions (in 2011).

The aim of the Agreement is to strengthen and consolidate cooperation between the EU and Eurocontrol in order to enable Eurocontrol to support the EU in the implementation of SES and related EU policies.

Main aspects of the Agreement

The Agreement:

- confirms Eurocontrol as the technical and operational arm of the EU in the development and implementation of the SES;

- lists the areas of cooperation and defines the forms and mechanisms of cooperation;

- aims to ensure synergies with, and avoid duplication of, the work of the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) in safety-related air traffic management matters and environmental issues.

It is proposed to set up a Joint Committee responsible for the management and functioning of the Agreement. The Joint Committee would be empowered to adopt and modify Annexes falling under the scope of the Agreement.

The Agreement was signed on 20 December 2012. It is applied provisionally. To conclude the Agreement, the Council needs the consent of the European Parliament. In accordance with Article 81 of the Rules of Procedure the Parliament shall take a decision by means of a single vote, and no amendments to the agreement itself may be tabled.

Rapporteur's position

Your Rapporteur believes that the Agreement will further contribute to implementation of the Single European Sky and recommends to give a consent with its conclusion.

Date adopted	23.4.2013
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & & 40 \\ -: & & 0 \\ 0: & & 0 \end{array}$
Members present for the final vote	Magdi Cristiano Allam, Georges Bach, Erik Bánki, Philip Bradbourn, Antonio Cancian, Michael Cramer, Joseph Cuschieri, Philippe De Backer, Luis de Grandes Pascual, Christine De Veyrac, Saïd El Khadraoui, Ismail Ertug, Carlo Fidanza, Jacqueline Foster, Mathieu Grosch, Jim Higgins, Dieter-Lebrecht Koch, Werner Kuhn, Eva Lichtenberger, Marian-Jean Marinescu, Gesine Meissner, Hubert Pirker, Dominique Riquet, David-Maria Sassoli, Vilja Savisaar- Toomast, Olga Sehnalová, Brian Simpson, Keith Taylor, Silvia-Adriana Țicău, Giommaria Uggias, Dominique Vlasto, Artur Zasada, Roberts Zīle
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Spyros Danellis, Markus Ferber, Eider Gardiazábal Rubial, Wolf Klinz, Alfreds Rubiks, Oldřich Vlasák
Substitute(s) under Rule 187(2) present for the final vote	Josef Weidenholzer

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE