European Parliament

2014-2019



Plenary sitting

A8-0292/2015

13.10.2015

REPORT

on the proposal for the appointment of the Managing Director of the European Fund for Strategic Investments (C8-0304/2015 - 2015/0901(NLE))

Committee on Budgets Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

Rapporteurs: Jean Arthuis, Roberto Gualtieri

(Joint committee meetings – Rule 55 of the Rules of Procedure)

RR\1075734EN.doc

 $PR_NLE_MembersECB$

CONTENTS

PROPOSAL FOR A EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT DECISION	3
RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	5

Page

PROPOSAL FOR A EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT DECISION

on the proposal for the appointment of the Managing Director of the European Fund for Strategic Investments (C8-0304/2015 – 2015/0901(NLE))

(Approval)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the proposal of the Steering Board of the European Fund for Strategic Investments (EFSI) of 2 October 2015 for the appointment of its Managing Director (C8-0304/2015),
- having regard to Article 7(6) of Regulation (EU) 2015/1017 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 25 June 2015 on the European Fund for Strategic Investments, the European Investment Advisory Hub and the European Investment Project Portal and amending Regulations (EU) No 1291/2013 and (EU) No 1316/2013 — the European Fund for Strategic Investments¹,
- having regard to its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the joint deliberations of the Committee on Budgets and the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs under Rule 55 of the Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the report of the Committee on Budgets and the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (A8-0292/2015),
- A. whereas Article 7(6) of Regulation (EU) 2015/1017 provides that the Managing Director and Deputy Managing Director of the EFSI are to be appointed by the EIB after approval by the European Parliament following an open and transparent selection process in line with EIB procedures, during which the European Parliament shall be kept duly informed in a timely manner at all stages;
- B. whereas, on 2 October 2015, the Steering Board of the EFSI adopted a proposal for the appointment of the Managing Director and Deputy Managing Director of the EFSI and transmitted this proposal to the European Parliament;
- C. whereas, on 13 October 2015, the Committee on Budgets and the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs held a hearing with Wilhelm Molterer, the proposed candidate for the function of Managing Director of the EFSI, at which he made an opening statement and then responded to questions from the members of the Committees;
- 1. Approves the appointment of Wilhelm Molterer for the position of Managing Director of the EFSI;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward this decision to the Council, the Commission, the

¹ OJ L 169, 1.7.2015, p. 1.

European Investment Bank and the governments of the Member States.

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

Date adopted	13.10.2015
Result of final vote	+: 55 -: 8 0: 10
Members present for the final vote	Jean Arthuis, Burkhard Balz, Pervenche Berès, Udo Bullmann, Lefteris Christoforou, Esther de Lange, Fabio De Masi, Gérard Deprez, Anneliese Dodds, José Manuel Fernandes, Jonás Fernández, Elisa Ferreira, Eider Gardiazabal Rubial, Sylvie Goulard, Roberto Gualtieri, Brian Hayes, Gunnar Hökmark, Petr Ježek, Othmar Karas, Zbigniew Kuźmiuk, Georgios Kyrtsos, Olle Ludvigsson, Ernest Maragall, Fulvio Martusciello, Costas Mavrides, Clare Moody, Siegfried Mureşan, Liadh Ní Riada, Jan Olbrycht, Stanisław Ożóg, Dariusz Rosati, Paul Rübig, Alfred Sant, Peter Simon, Theodor Dumitru Stolojan, Patricija Šulin, Kay Swinburne, Paul Tang, Michael Theurer, Isabelle Thomas, Ramon Tremosa i Balcells, Marco Valli, Monika Vana, Tom Vandenkendelaere, Daniele Viotti, Pablo Zalba Bidegain, Marco Zanni
Substitutes present for the final vote	Mercedes Bresso, Andrea Cozzolino, Philippe De Backer, Bas Eickhout, Ashley Fox, Ildikó Gáll-Pelcz, Giovanni La Via, Eva Paunova, Andrej Plenković, Tibor Szanyi, Romana Tomc, Nils Torvalds, Beatrix von Storch
Substitutes under Rule 200(2) present for the final vote	Heinz K. Becker, Simona Bonafè, Ian Duncan, Christian Ehler, Iliana Iotova, Elisabeth Köstinger, Andrew Lewer, Vladimír Maňka, Maria Noichl, Sofia Ribeiro, Fernando Ruas, Bogdan Brunon Wenta, Ivan Štefanec