#### **European Parliament**



2019-2024

Plenary sitting

A9-0175/2024

11.4.2024

\*\*\*

## RECOMMENDATION

on the draft Council decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the Union, of the Protocol to the Euro-Mediterranean Agreement establishing an Association between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Arab Republic of Egypt, of the other part, on a Framework Agreement between the European Union and the Arab Republic of Egypt on the general principles for the participation of the Arab Republic of Egypt in Union programmes (15093/2023 – C9-0017/2024 – 2023/0220(NLE))

Committee on Foreign Affairs

Rapporteur: Michael Gahler

 $RR\1300914EN.docx$ 

PE759.729v02-00

#### Symbols for procedures

- \* Consultation procedure
- \*\*\* Consent procedure
- \*\*\*I Ordinary legislative procedure (first reading)
- \*\*\*II Ordinary legislative procedure (second reading)
- \*\*\*III Ordinary legislative procedure (third reading)

(The type of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the draft act.)

**EN** 

#### CONTENTS

### 

FINAL	VOTE BY	ROLL CALL	IN COMMIT	TEE RESPO	NSIBLE	7

EN

#### DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

on the draft Council decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the Union, of the Protocol to the Euro-Mediterranean Agreement establishing an Association between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Arab Republic of Egypt, of the other part, on a Framework Agreement between the European Union and the Arab Republic of Egypt on the general principles for the participation of the Arab Republic of Egypt in Union programmes (15093/2023 – C9-0017/2024 – 2023/0220(NLE))

#### (Consent)

#### The European Parliament,

- having regard to the draft Council decision (15093/2023),
- having regard to the draft Protocol to the Euro-Mediterranean Agreement establishing an Association between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Arab Republic of Egypt, of the other part, on a Framework Agreement between the European Union and the Arab Republic of Egypt on the general principles for the participation of the Arab Republic of Egypt in Union programmes (15086/2023)
- having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with Article 212 and Article 218(6), second subparagraph, point (a), and Article 218(7) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C9-0017/2024),
- having regard to Rule 105(1) and (4) and Rule 114(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (A9-0175/2024),
- 1. Gives its consent to the conclusion of the Protocol;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of the Arab Republic of Egypt.

FN

#### **ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS** FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS RECEIVED INPUT

Pursuant to Article 8 of Annex I to the Rules of Procedure, the rapporteur declares that he has received input from the following entities or persons in the preparation of the report, until the adoption thereof in committee:

#### Entity and/or person

EEAS

The list above is drawn up under the exclusive responsibility of the rapporteur.

EN

#### **PROCEDURE – COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE**

Title	Protocol to the Euro-Mediterranean Agreement establishing an Association between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Arab Republic of Egypt, of the other part, on a Framework Agreement between the European Union and the Arab Republic of Egypt on the general principles for the participation of the Arab Republic of Egypt in Union programmes	
References	15093/2023 - C9-0017/2024 - 2023/0220(NLE)	
Date of consultation or request for consent	31.1.2024	
<b>Committee responsible</b> Date announced in plenary	AFET 26.2.2024	
<b>Rapporteurs</b> Date appointed	Michael Gahler 21.3.2024	
Previous rapporteurs	Mounir Satouri	
Discussed in committee	21.3.2024	
Date adopted	9.4.2024	
Result of final vote	+: 39 -: 4 0: 8	
Members present for the final vote	Alexander Alexandrov Yordanov, François Alfonsi, Maria Arena, Petras Auštrevičius, Traian Băsescu, Reinhard Bütikofer, Susanna Ceccardi, Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz, Anna Fotyga, Sunčana Glavak, Klemen Grošelj, Bernard Guetta, Sandra Kalniete, Dietmar Köster, Andrius Kubilius, David Lega, Nathalie Loiseau, Leopoldo López Gil, Antonio López-Istúriz White, Thierry Mariani, Pedro Marques, David McAllister, Sven Mikser, Matjaž Nemec, Demetris Papadakis, Kostas Papadakis, Tonino Picula, Thijs Reuten, Nacho Sánchez Amor, Isabel Santos, Mounir Satouri, Jordi Solé, Tineke Strik, Dominik Tarczyński, Hermann Tertsch, Hilde Vautmans, Thomas Waitz, Charlie Weimers, Isabel Wiseler-Lima, Tomáš Zdechovský	
Substitutes present for the final vote	Attila Ara-Kovács, Vladimír Bilčík, Mercedes Bresso, Arnaud Danjean, Angel Dzhambazki, Andrey Kovatchev, Jan OVELGÖNNE, María Soraya Rodríguez Ramos, Mick Wallace	
Substitutes under Rule 209(7) present for the final vote	Włodzimierz Karpiński, Georgios Kyrtsos	
Date tabled	11.4.2024	

#### FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

39	+
ECR	Angel Dzhambazki, Anna Fotyga, Dominik Tarczyński, Hermann Tertsch
ID	Susanna Ceccardi, Thierry Mariani
PPE	Alexander Alexandrov Yordanov, Traian Băsescu, Vladimír Bilčík, Arnaud Danjean, Sunčana Glavak, Sandra Kalniete, Włodzimierz Karpiński, Andrey Kovatchev, Andrius Kubilius, David Lega, Leopoldo López Gil, Antonio López-Istúriz White, David McAllister, Isabel Wiseler-Lima, Tomáš Zdechovský
Renew	Petras Auštrevičius, Klemen Grošelj, Bernard Guetta, Georgios Kyrtsos, Nathalie Loiseau, María Soraya Rodríguez Ramos, Hilde Vautmans
S&D	Attila Ara-Kovács, Mercedes Bresso, Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz, Pedro Marques, Sven Mikser, Matjaž Nemec, Demetris Papadakis, Tonino Picula, Thijs Reuten, Nacho Sánchez Amor, Isabel Santos

4	-
ECR	Charlie Weimers
NI	Kostas Papadakis
S&D	Maria Arena
The Left	Mick Wallace

8	0
S&D	Dietmar Köster
Verts/ALE	François Alfonsi, Reinhard Bütikofer, Jan OVELGÖNNE, Mounir Satouri, Jordi Solé, Tineke Strik, Thomas Waitz

# Key to symbols: + : in favour - : against

0 : abstention