• EN - English
Motion for a resolution - B6-0421/2005Motion for a resolution



    tabled for the debate on cases of breaches of human rights, democracy and the rule of law
    pursuant to Rule 115(5) of the Rules of Procedure
    by Bastiaan Belder
    on behalf of the IND/DEM group
    on Zimbabwe

    NB: This motion for a resolution is available in the original language only.
    Procedure : 2005/2588(RSP)
    Document stages in plenary
    Document selected :  
    Texts tabled :
    Texts adopted :


    European parliament resolution on Zimbabwe

    The European parliament,

    – having regard to its previous resolutions on the situation in Zimbabwe, most recently of 16 December 2004,

    – having regard to Council Common Position of 21 February 2005 renewing sanctions against the Mugabe regime and Commission Regulation of 15 June 2005 extending the travel ban,

    – having regard to Rule 115(5) of its Rules of Procedure,

    A.  whereas on 19 May, the Mugabe regime intensified its oppression of the people of Zimbabwe by the brutal destruction of thousands of homes in Harare, Bulawayo and other urban areas, to the extent that some 275 000 people, according to UN estimates, are now without shelter or livelihood,

    B.  whereas those loyal to Mugabe had consolidated their power in the flawed parliamentary elections of 31 March, elections which were marred by oppression and intimidation and failed to meet internationally acceptable democratic standards,

    C.  whereas G8 leaders will meet at Gleneagles on 6-8 July and the British Presidency of the G8 has put assistance to Africa at the top of its agenda,

    D.  whereas on 24 May EU Development Ministers agreed to increase EU aid to 0.56% of national income by 2010, in order to reach 0.7% percent by 2015 in furtherance of the http://europa.eu.int/comm/development/body/communications/communications_en.htmMillennium Development Goals; whereas the increase is estimated to amount to an additional €20 billion annually by 2010,

    E.  whereas aid alone can achieve little in Africa without good governance, the rule of law and respect for human rights, and the attitude to developments in Zimbabwe by African governments is a key indication of their commitment to such values,

    F.  whereas previously, Zimbabwe had a successful economy, exported food to other African countries and was in a position to assist its weaker neighbours in overcoming their difficulties; it is now a failed state with millions of its people reliant on food aid from the international community,

    G.  whereas the African Union has refused to intervene to put a stop to Mugabe's brutal oppression and the South African President, Thabo Mbeki, has declined even to criticise Mugabe's actions, let alone take tangible measures against his regime,

    H.  whereas when renewing the targeted sanctions against the Mugabe regime in February, Council committed itself to reviewing those sanctions "in the light of the parliamentary elections which will take place in Zimbabwe in March 2005",

    J.  whereas the EU travel ban against Zimbabwe was extended on 15 June 2005 to include some 120 members of the Mugabe regime; whereas this extension will have little impact without rigorous enforcement of the sanctions; whereas Council has imposed no other measures against the Mugabe regime since the 31 March fraudulent elections or following the most recent bout of oppression,

    K.  whereas the next EU Foreign Ministers Council (GAERC) will take place on 18-19 July 2005 and provides an opportunity for action,

    1.  At a time when the western democracies are reaching out to help the people of Africa, condemns the Mugabe regime for the intensification of its oppression of the Zimbabwean people, and expresses its deep disappointment at the failure of other African governments to add their voices to this censure and to take action;

    2.  Refuses to recognise the result of the deeply flawed elections of 31 March 2005 which failed to meet internationally accepted democratic standards;

    3.  Deeply regrets the failure of Council to respond to Parliament's consistent calls for increased pressure against the Mugabe regime;

    4.  Insists that, in the light of the situation in Zimbabwe and the desire of the people of our countries for support for Africa, that Council takes serious action to bring about change for the better in Zimbabwe (adopting measures such as: closure of loopholes in existing EU targeted sanctions and a clear commitment to their rigorous enforcement on the part of all Member States; the curtailing of economic links with Zimbabwe that directly benefit the regime, such as trade with farms controlled by regime members; the identification and imposition of measures against those providing financial backing for the anti-democratic activities of the regime; and the prevention of family members of Mugabe's henchmen accessing employment and educational institutions in EU Member States);

    5.  Deplores the weak stance of the African Union, in particular South Africa and Zimbabwe's other neighbours, in turning a blind eye to the daily oppression of the people in Zimbabwe and the destruction of that country's economy;

    6.  Criticises the Commission President's initial suggestion that EU Member States "should not be giving lessons" to African countries while endorsing his subsequent expression of disappointment at the failure of the African Union and of South Africa to respond to the "human rights crisis" in Zimbabwe;

    7.  Endorses the view that measures to relieve African debt should be contingent upon improvements in standards of governance in the continent, and upon a clear demonstration on the part of African regional organisations and nations of their commitment to good governance, democracy, the rule of law and respect for human rights, as well as economic progress; regards Zimbabwe as the test case in this regard;

    8.  Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Commission, the Council, the Governments of the Member States, the Government and Parliament of Zimbabwe, the Government and Parliament of South Africa, the Secretary General of the Commonwealth, the UN Secretary-General, the Presidents of the Commission and Council of the African Union and the Secretary-General of SADC.