Motion for a resolution - B6-0665/2006Motion for a resolution



to wind up the debate on statements by the Council and Commission
pursuant to Rule 103(2) of the Rules of Procedure
by Edward McMillan-Scott, José Ignacio Salafranca Sánchez-Neyra and Gerardo Galeote
on behalf of the PPE-DE Group
on the Sakharov Prize

Procedure : 2006/2683(RSP)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected :  
Texts tabled :
Debates :
Texts adopted :


European Parliament resolution on the Sakharov Prize

The European Parliament,

–  having regard to Rule 103(2) of its Rules of Procedure,

A.  whereas the Sakharov prize for freedom of conscience was established in 1988 and whereas this prize is one of the many ways in which the European Parliament supports human rights and the cause of democracy and is a means of acknowledging the contribution of those who fight oppression, intolerance and injustice in the world,

B.  whereas the prize has been won by the following personalities and organisations: Anatoly Marchenko (1989), Aung San Suu Kyi (1990), Adem Demaçi (1991), Las Madres de la Plaza de Mayo (1992), Oslobodjenje (1993), Taslima Nasreen (1994), Leyla Zana (1995), Wei Jingsheng (1996), Salima Ghezali (1997), Ibrahim Rugova (1998), Xanana Gusmão (1999), Basta Ya (2000), Nurit Peled, Izzat Ghazzawi and Dom Zacarias Kamwenho (2001), Oswaldo Payá Sardiñas (2002), Kofi Annan and the United Nations (2003), the Belarus Association of Journalists (2004), Damas de Blanco (Cuba), Reporters Without Borders and Hauwa Ibrahim (joint winners) (2005) and Aliaksandr Milinkevich (2006),

C.  whereas the 1990 prize winner (the Burmese dissident Aung San Suu Kyi, who is under house arrest) and the 2005 prize winner (the Cuban collective Damas de Blanco) have not yet been authorised to come to receive the prize,

D.  whereas the Conference of Presidents decided to dispatch two delegations to Cuba and Burma to establish contact with the prize winners in order to check on their personal situation,

E.  whereas, among other prize winners, Mr Payá Sardiñas, the winner of the 2002 Sakharov Prize, has not yet been authorised, following the presentation of his prize, to come to the European institutions as requested by this Parliament on a number of occasions,

1.  Deplores the fact that some prize winners have still not been authorised to receive their prize in person, which represents a violation of one of the fundamental rights of each human being (namely the freedom to enter and leave one’s own country without hindrance – a right which is specifically recognised by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights);

2.  Considers unacceptable the fact that, following the decision of the Conference of Presidents to dispatch two delegations (one to Burma and, the other to Cuba), the authorities of those countries in question might refuse entry to the respective delegations;

3.  Welcomes the decision by the Conference of Presidents of 16 November to establish a follow-up mechanism for winners of the Sakharov Prize and systematically to dispatch a European Parliament delegation to meet those prize winners who have not been authorised by the authorities of their countries to attend the prize-giving ceremony;

4.  Reiterates its demand that Mr Oswaldo Payá Sardiñas, winner of the 2002 Sakharov Prize, be allowed to travel to the European institutions;

5.  Calls upon its President to take all the necessary steps in order to enable these decisions to be implemented;

6.  Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council, the Commission and the Burmese and Chinese Governments, the Burmese Parliament, the National Assembly of People’s Power of the Republic of Cuba and the United Nations Human Rights Council.