• EN - English
Πρόταση ψηφίσματος - B6-0531/2007Πρόταση ψηφίσματος
Το έγγραφο δεν υπάρχει στη γλώσσα σας. Σας προτείνεται η εκδοχή του σε άλλη γλώσσα, από αυτές που περιλαμβάνονται στο μενού των γλωσσών



with request for inclusion in the agenda for the debate on cases of breaches of human rights, democracy and the rule of law
pursuant to Rule 115 of the Rules of Procedure
by Konrad Szymański, Wojciech Roszkowski, Ryszard Czarnecki, Ewa Tomaszewska, Brian Crowley
on behalf of the UEN Group
on Comfort Women

Διαδικασία : 2007/2682(RSP)
Διαδρομή στην ολομέλεια
Διαδρομή του εγγράφου :  
Κείμενα που κατατέθηκαν :
Κείμενα που εγκρίθηκαν :


European Parliament resolution on Comfort Women

The European Parliament,

-  Having regard to the Convention for the Suppression of the Traffic in Women and Children (1921) of which Japan is a signatory

-  Having regard to the Forced Labour Convention No. 29 (1930), ratified by Japan

-  Having regard to the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women and Peace and Security (2000)

-  Having regard to the judgement and recommendations of the Women’s International War Crimes Tribunal on Japan’s Military Sexual Slavery, The Hague (2001),

-  Having regard to the 110th United States Congress resolution no 121,

-  Having regard to Rule 115 of its Rules of Procedure,

A.  Whereas the Government of Japan, throughout its occupation of Asia and the Pacific Islands from the 1930s through the period of World War II, officially commissioned the acquisition of young women for the sole purpose of sexual servitude to its Imperial Armed Forces, who became known to the world as ianfu or “comfort women”;

B.  Whereas the Government of Japan is a signatory to the 1921 International Convention for the Suppression of the Traffic in Women and Children and supported the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace, and Security which recognised the unique impact of armed conflict on women;

C.  Whereas Japanese public and private officials have recently expressed a desire to weaken or withdraw the 1993 statement by Chief Cabinet Secretary Yohei Kono on the “comfort women”, which expressed the Government’s sincere apologies and remorse for their ordeal;

D.  Whereas some new required texts used in Japanese schools try to minimise the tragedy of the “comfort women” and other Japanese war crimes during World War II;

E.  Whereas the Asian Women’s Fund has raised $5,700,000 to prolong compensation from the Japanese people to the “comfort women”;

F.  Whereas the mandate of the Asian Women’s Fund, a government initiated and largely government-funded private foundation whose aim was the implementation of programs and projects with the aim of compensation for the abuse and suffering of the “comfort women”, came to an end on 31 March 2007;

G.  Whereas the European Parliament praises Japan’s endeavours to advocate democratic values, the rule of law, human rights, and human security, as well as for being a supporter of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325;

1.  Calls on the Government of Japan to formally recognise, apologise, and accept historical responsibility in a clear and explicit manner for its Imperial Armed Force’s coercion of young women into sexual enslavement, known as “comfort women”, during its occupation of Asia and the Pacific Islands from the 1930s through the period of World War II;

2.  Calls on the Government of Japan to have this official regret given as a public statement presented by the Prime Minister of Japan in his official capacity;

3.  Considers that any claims that the sexual enslavement and trafficking of the “comfort women” for the Japanese Imperial Armed Forces never occurred should be clearly and publicly refuted by the Government of Japan;

4.  Considers that the Government of Japan should make all possible efforts to inform current and future generations about these events with full respect to the “comfort women”;

5.  Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Japanese Government, the Governments of the ASEAN states, the DPRK, South Korea, the People's Republic of China and of Taiwan, to Timor Leste, to the Council, the Commission and the Member States.