• EN - English
Mozzjoni għal riżoluzzjoni - B7-0053/2010Mozzjoni għal riżoluzzjoni
Dan id-dokument mhux disponibbli bil-lingwa tiegħek. Tista' tarah b'lingwa oħra disponibbli fil-menu tal-lingwi.

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION on human rights violation in China, in particular the case of Liu Xiaobao


with request for inclusion in the agenda for the debate on cases of breaches of human rights, democracy and the rule of law
pursuant to Rule 122 of the Rules of Procedure

Gabriele Zimmer, Marie-Christine Vergiat on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group

See also joint motion for a resolution RC-B7-0040/2010

Proċedura : 2010/2513(RSP)
Ċiklu ta' ħajja waqt sessjoni
Ċiklu relatat mad-dokument :  
Testi mressqa :
Votazzjonijiet :
Testi adottati :


European Parliament resolution on human rights violation in China, in particular the case of Liu Xiaobao

The European Parliament,

–   having regard to its previous resolution on human rights in China,

–   having regard to Rule 122(5) of its Rules of Procedure,

A.  whereas on 10 December 2008 the Charter 08 was published which was signed by over 303 Chinese intellectuals and human rights activists to promote political reform and democratization in the People's Republic of China,

B.  whereas on 8 December 2008 the prominent human rights defender and alleged author of Charter 08 Liu Xiabao was detained and later arrested on 23 June 2009; whereas the Beijing Municipal No. 1 Intermediate People’s Court issued a guilty verdict and 11-year sentence to Liu Xiaobo for the crime of “inciting subversion of state power” on 25 December 2009,

C.  whereas at least 70 of its 303 original signatories have been summoned or interrogated by police while domestic media have been forbidden to interview anyone who has signed the document,

D.  whereas Akmal Shaikh a British national was convicted for drug trafficking and executed in the People's Republic of China on 29 December 2009,

1.  strongly believes that there is nothing subversive to state security when intellectuals, artists, writers and academics exercise their core vocation: to think, re-think, ask questions, criticize, act creatively, and try to initiate open dialogue; underlines on the contrary, that the present and future well-being of a society is undermined when governments suppress intellectual debate;

2.  strongly believes that there is nothing subversive to state security or damaging to future prosperity when citizens act guided by their own will and according to their best knowledge and conscience, when they associate among themselves to discuss and express peacefully their concerns and visions about the future development of their society; underlines on the contrary that a country's material and spiritual future is undermined when its citizens are not allowed to act, associate, think and speak freely;

3.  calls for the immediate release of Liu Xiaobo and urges the Chinese government to secure a fair and genuinely open trial for Liu Xiaobo when the court hears his appeal;

4.  calls on the Chinese government to end the house arrests and police surveillance which have been imposed on other signatories;

5.  emphasises the need to intensify the EU-China human rights dialogue and underlines the role of the inter-parliamentary delegation in this context; calls on the relevant bodies to continue to discuss intensively matters of concern such as the ratification of the UN International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, freedom of expression, including on the Internet, freedom of the press, freedom of conscience, thought and religion, the death penalty, and workers’ and other social and economic rights;

6.  condemns the execution of Akmal Shaikh; reiterates its longstanding position against the death penalty in all cases and under all circumstances everywhere in the world; reiterates its call on China as on all other countries where the death penalty is carried out to abolish it; calls on the Chinese authorities to immediately establish a moratorium on executions as an urgent first step;

7.  instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council, the Commission, the governments and parliaments of the Member States, the President, Government and Parliament of the People's Republic of China.