• EN - English
Resolutsiooni ettepanek - B7-0285/2010Resolutsiooni ettepanek
    Dokumenti ei ole teie valitud keelde tõlgitud. Sellega saab tutvuda keelemenüüs märgitud keeltes.



    with request for inclusion in the agenda for the debate on cases of breaches of human rights, democracy and the rule of law
    pursuant to Rule 122 of the Rules of Procedure

    Filip Kaczmarek, Cristian Dan Preda, Bernd Posselt, Tunne Kelam, Mario Mauro, Eija-Riitta Korhola, Bogusław Sonik, Monica Luisa Macovei, Elena Băsescu, Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Lena Kolarska-Bobińska, László Tőkés on behalf of the PPE Group

    See also joint motion for a resolution RC-B7-0283/2010

    NB: This motion for a resolution is available in the original language only.
    Menetlus : 2010/2702(RSP)
    Menetluse etapid istungitel
    Dokumendi valik :  
    Esitatud tekstid :
    Hääletused :
    Vastuvõetud tekstid :


    European Parliament resolution on Burma

    The European Parliament,

    - having regard to its previous resolutions,

    - having regard to Articles 18 - 21 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) of 1948,

    - having regard to Article 25 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) of 1966,

    - having regard to the statement by UN Special Rapporteur Thomas Ojea Quintana on May 5, 2010,

    - having regard to the European Council Conclusions on Burma/Myanmar – 3009th Foreign Affairs Council meeting – Luxembourg, 26 April 2010,

    - having regard to the statement by High Representative Catherine Ashton of 1 March 2010 on the rejection of Aung San Suu Kyi´s appeal by the Supreme Court of Burma/Myanmar,

    - having regard to the Chairman´s Statement of the 16th ASEAN Summit – Hanoi, 9 April 2010,

    - having regard to European Council Conclusions - Declaration on Burma/Myanmar of 19 June 2009,

    - having regard to the Council conclusions on Burma/Myanmar - 2938th General Affairs Council meeting - Luxembourg, 27 April 2009,

    - having regard to EU Presidency Statement calling for all-inclusive dialogue between the authorities and the democratic forces in Burma/Myanmar - 23 February 2009,

    - having regard to UN Secretary-General report on the situation of human rights in Burma/Myanmar – 28 August 2009,

    - having regard to the Declaration of the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the arrest of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi of 14 May 2009,

    - having regard to Rule 122 of its Rules of Procedure,


    A. whereas for the first time after 20 years parliamentary elections are foreseen at the end of 2010,

    B. whereas the Burmese State and Development Council (SPDC) has issued on March 9, 2010, five repressive election laws that will ensure that the elections in Burma scheduled for this year will be neither fair nor free,

    C. whereas Burma's human rights record continues to deteriorate ahead of the announced elections in 2010; whereas citizens are systematically denied basic freedoms including freedom of expression, association, and assembly,

    D. whereas there are currently an estimated 2,100 political prisoners imprisoned for their peaceful activities in Burma/Myanmar,


    E. whereas the military continues to perpetrate human rights violations against civilians in ethnic conflict areas, including extrajudicial killings, forced labour and sexual violence,


    F. whereas Aung San Suu Kyi, leader of the opposition National League for Democracy (NLD), has been under house arrest since 2003; whereas on May 14, 2009, authorities arrested her on charges that she breached the terms of her house arrest by permitting the visit of an American, John Yettaw; whereas on August 11, 2009, a criminal court inside Insein prison in Rangoon sentenced Suu Kyi to 3 years of imprisonment for violating her house arrest, a sentence which was subsequently reduced to 18 months of house arrest; whereas on March 1, 2010, the Supreme Court of Burma/Myanmar rejected Aung San Suu Kyi´s appeal against the unjust sentence imposed 2009,


    G. whereas the National League for Democracy (NLD) was disbanded by law on May 6, 2010, after not registering for the elections,




    1. Strongly urges the Government of Burma/Myanmar to take without delay the necessary steps to ensure a free, fair and transparent electoral process, including the participation of all voters, all political parties, and all other relevant stakeholders in the electoral process and accept international observers;

    2. Strongly condemns the ongoing systematic violations of human rights fundamental freedoms and basic democratic rights of the people of Burma/Myanmar;

    3. Urges the international community to put all efforts to ensure that free and democratic elections will be held;


    4. Urges the Government of Burma/Myanmar to release all prisoners of conscience without delay, without conditions and with full restoration of their political rights and to desist from further politically motivated arrests;

    5. Expresses grave concern at the recent trial, conviction and sentencing of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and calls for her immediate and unconditional release; requests her right to participate in the elections;

    6. Reaffirms the essential importance of a genuine process of dialogue and national reconciliation for a transition to democracy; calls on the Government of Burma/Myanmar to immediately start a genuine dialogue with all parties and ethnic groups; welcomes in this context the mediation efforts by the UN Secretary-General and his Special rapporteur on Burma;

    7. Strongly calls upon the Government of Burma/Myanmar to lift restrictions on the freedom of assembly, association, movement and freedom of expression, including for free and independent media, including through the openly available and accessible use of Internet and mobile telephone services, and ending the use of censorship;

    8. Urges the Governments of China, India and Russia to use their considerable economic and political leverage with the Burmese authorities in order to bring about substantial improvements in the country and to cease the supply of weaponry and other strategic resources;

    9. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the to the HR/VP Mrs. Ashton, the governments and parliaments of the Member States, the EU Special Envoy for Burma, the Burmese State Peace and Development Council, the governments of the ASEAN and ASEM member states, the ASEM secretariat, the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Myanmar Caucus, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, the UN Secretary-General, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and the UN Human Rights Special Rapporteur for Burma/Myanmar.