Volver al portal Europarl

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (selección)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Este documento no está disponible en su lengua y se le ofrece en una de las lenguas que están disponibles en la barra de lenguas.

Procedimiento : 2012/2784(RSP)
Ciclo de vida en sesión
Ciclo relativo al documento : B7-0455/2012

Textos presentados :


Debates :

PV 13/09/2012 - 17.2

Votaciones :

PV 13/09/2012 - 18.2

Textos aprobados :


PDF 129kWORD 71k
See also joint motion for a resolution RC-B7-0426/2012

with request for inclusion in the agenda for a debate on cases of breaches of human rights, democracy and the rule of law

pursuant to Rule 122 of the Rules of Procedure

on Persecution of Rohingya Muslims in Burma (2012/2784(RSP))

Marietje Schaake, Graham Watson, Louis Michel, Edward McMillan-Scott, Leonidas Donskis, Robert Rochefort, Fiona Hall, Sonia Alfano, Marielle de Sarnez, Sarah Ludford, Kristiina Ojuland, Johannes Cornelis van Baalen, Jelko Kacin, Anneli Jäätteenmäki, Izaskun Bilbao Barandica on behalf of the ALDE Group
NB: This motion for a resolution is available in the original language only.

European Parliament resolution on Persecution of Rohingya Muslims in Burma (2012/2784(RSP))  

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the statement by the spokesman of the High Representative of 13 June 2012 on the crisis in the Northern Rakhine State of Burma/Myanmar,

- having regard to the statement by Commissioner Georgieva of 9 August 2012 on humanitarian access to Rohingya and other affected communities,

- having regard to the Conclusions of the EU-Foreign Affairs Council on Burma/Myanmar of 23 April 2012,

- having regard to the statement by Hillary Rodham Clinton, Secretary of State of the United States, on violence in Rakhine State, 11 June 2012,

- having regard to its previous resolutions on Burma/Myanmar; in particular that of 20 April 2012,

- having regard to Rule 122(5) of its Rules of Procedure,


A.  Whereas the rape and murder of young Buddhist woman in Rakhine in May set off a chain of deadly sectarian clashes, leaving more than 80 people dead and thousands of homes destroyed;


B.  whereas according to the UNHCR 80,000 people have been displaced during the conflict;


C.  whereas according to humanitarian groups at least 12 local staff employed by international aid groups were detained by the government in June for suspected involvement in the unrest;


D.  whereas the President of Burma declared a state of emergency warning against “never-ending hatred, desire for revenge and anarchic actions”; whereas the Government of Burma has set up a commission to investigate the recent violences between Buddhists and Muslims;


E.  whereas the European Commission, through its humanitarian and civil protection department ECHO has allocated EUR 10 million in 2012 benefiting both Rohingyas and other communities in need in Burma/Myanmar and Bangladesh, however, authorities in Dhaka, Bangladesh, have now requested the three international NGOs who assist the local population, to cease their humanitarian activities;


F.  whereas the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) expanded distributions of emergency food supplies to thousands of people displaced by inter-communal violence in Northern Rakhine State;


G.  whereas according to the UN, Rohingya in Burma are one of the most world’s persecuted and unwanted minorities; whereas the government of Burma has not recognised Rohingya as an indigenous ethnic group with full citizenship and Bangladesh has refused to grant them refugee status since 1992;

H.  whereas according to international press it is very difficult for the journalists to operate in the region and verify reports;


1.  Strongly condemns the deadly sectarian violence between Arakan Buddhists and Rohingya Muslims and expresses its solidarity with the family of the deceased;

2.  Welcomes the decision of the Burmese government to create a new independent Investigation Commission to examine recent violence;

3.  Stresses that an investigation into the violence should explicitly address the role and involvement of the Burmese authorities and security forces;

4.  Expresses its deep concern about the situation of Rohingyas and calls on the Government of Burma to work towards a peaceful and democratic country that respects the rights of all its diverse peoples;

5.  Calls on all countries in South and Southeast Asia to address the plight of all Burmese refugees as equal and commit resources to them in equal measure;

6.  Supports the appeal by Commissioner Georgieva on the Government of Bangladesh to act responsibly and allow humanitarian aid organisations to do their work for the benefit of all communities; calls also on the Burmese government to allow journalists, aid workers and diplomats enter all areas of western province of Burma;

7.  Encourages the Burmese government to continue implementing its democratic reforms, establishing the rule of law, respect for human rights and fundamental freedom - in particular freedom of expression and assembly (including on the internet), and seeking an immediate and structural end to ongoing ethnic conflicts; trusts that all parties can find a peaceful and constructive way forward for all people in Rakhine state;

8.  Stresses that all those responsible for human rights violations should be identified and be held accountable for their actions;

9.  Calls on the HR/VP to closely monitor the Burmese government's response and implementation of its announced political and legal reforms and treatment of Rohingyas, in order to assess the ongoing suspension of restrictive measures against Burma;

10.  Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council, the Commission, the High Representative, the parliaments and governments of the Member States, the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the Secretary-General of the ASEAN and the Parliament and Government of Burma/Myanmar;


Aviso jurídico - Política de privacidad