

2009 - 2014

Committee on Budgets

2011/0139(NLE)

9.11.2011

OPINION

of the Committee on Budgets

for the Committee on Fisheries

on the proposal for a Council decision on the conclusion of a Protocol between the European Union and the Kingdom of Morocco setting out the fishing opportunities and financial compensation provided for in the Fisheries Partnership Agreement between the European Community and the Kingdom of Morocco

(11226/2011 - C7-0201/2011 - 2011/0139(NLE))

Rapporteur for the opinion: François Alfonsi

AD\882673EN.doc PE472.388v03-00



SHORT JUSTIFICATION

The proposed extension of the protocol covers a period of one year from 27 February 2011, the date on which the current protocol expires. The current protocol was provisionally set in place pending Parliament's consent procedure. The extended protocol will be valid for one year commencing on 28 February 2011.

Under Articles 43(2) and 218(6)(a) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the European Parliament can either consent or decline to consent.

This agreement involves a considerable level of funding (EUR 36.1 million), which is much more substantial than that of other agreements so far approved. Our committee has called for a joint in-depth consideration of these agreements by the EP committees involved (PECH, BUDG, DEVE), to find ways of improving the existing safeguards for the conservation of fish stocks and ensure a more positive impact on the economic and social development of the countries involved. If this proposal is adopted in its present form, it will take up 25 % of the budget line involved and will effectively render any such consultation largely pointless.

CONCLUSION

The Committee on Budgets calls on the Committee on Fisheries, as the committee responsible, to propose that Parliament withhold its consent.

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE

Date adopted	7.11.2011
Result of final vote	+: 25 -: 8 0: 0
Members present for the final vote	Marta Andreasen, Reimer Böge, Lajos Bokros, Isabelle Durant, James Elles, José Manuel Fernandes, Eider Gardiazábal Rubial, Salvador Garriga Polledo, Carl Haglund, Lucas Hartong, Jutta Haug, Sidonia Elżbieta Jędrzejewska, Ivailo Kalfin, Jan Kozłowski, Alain Lamassoure, Vladimír Maňka, Barbara Matera, Nadezhda Neynsky, Dominique Riquet, László Surján, Derek Vaughan
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	François Alfonsi, Franziska Katharina Brantner, Frédéric Daerden, Jürgen Klute, Georgios Stavrakakis
Substitute(s) under Rule 187(2) present for the final vote	Josefa Andrés Barea, María Irigoyen Pérez, Baroness Sarah Ludford, George Lyon, Marisa Matias, Marit Paulsen, Ivo Vajgl

