# EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

9.5.2007

0050/2007

## WRITTEN DECLARATION

pursuant to Rule 116 of the Rules of Procedure

by Renate Sommer, Luisa Morgantini, Ana Maria Gomes, Heide Rühle and Maria Carlshamre

on the sentencing to death by stoning of two women on adultery charges

Lapse date: 14.9.2007

DC\664044EN.doc

#### 0050/2007

### Written declaration on the sentencing to death by stoning of two women on adultery charges

#### The European Parliament,

- having regard to Rule 116 of its Rules of Procedure,
- A. whereas the Republic of Sudan is a signatory to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights,
- B. whereas the court headed by Judge Hatim Abdurrahman Mohamed Hasan sentenced to death by stoning Ms Amouna Abdallah Daldoum (23 years old) and Ms Sadia Idries Fadul (22 years old from Tama tribe, Darfur), on 6 March 2007 and 13 February 2007 respectively, for committing adultery,
- 1. Calls on the Commission, the Council and the Member States
  - (a) to condemn the death sentences passed on Ms Amouna Abdallah Daldoum and Ms. Sadia Idries Fadul;
  - (b) to put pressure on the Government of Sudan to guarantee the physical and psychological integrity of Ms Amouna Abdallah Daldoum and Ms Sadia Idries Fadul and to ensure they are given a prompt and fair appeal trial in which their procedural rights are guaranteed at all times;
  - (c) more generally, to promote women's rights in their relations with the Sudanese authorities, including the right of women and girls to be free from discrimination and violence, in line with international laws and standards;
  - (d) to promote respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms in their relations with the Sudanese authorities, including compliance with national laws and international human rights standards, such as the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, to which Sudan has been a State Party since 1986, and the human rights clause of the Cotonou Agreement, which Sudan signed in 2005;
- 2. Instructs the President of the European Parliament to forward this declaration, together with the names of the signatories, to the Council, the Commission and the President of the Republic of Sudan.