EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

8.10.2008

WRITTEN DECLARATION

pursuant to Rule 116 of the Rules of Procedure

by Mechtild Rothe, Anders Wijkman, Fiona Hall, Claude Turmes and Umberto Guidoni

on the establishment of an International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Lapse date: 22.1.2009

DC\744642EN.doc PE414.436v01-00

EN EN

0082/2008

Written declaration on the establishment of an International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to Rule 116 of its Rules of Procedure,
- A. whereas the global energy demand is currently covered primarily by conventional energy sources,
- B. whereas two billion people around the globe are still lacking access to modern energy services,
- C. whereas the burning of fossil energy sources has significantly contributed to global warming and climate change,
- D. whereas fossil energy and nuclear energy are represented respectively by the International Energy Agency (IEA) and by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA),
- E. whereas the resolution of the International Parliamentary Forum on Renewable Energy 2004 urged for the establishment of an International Renewable Energy Agency,
- 1. Considers that the promotion of renewable energy sources requires new institutional measures in the field of international cooperation;
- 2. Welcomes the initiative by the German, Danish and Spanish Governments for the foundation of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA);
- 3. Calls on all EU national parliaments to join in this endeavour and to support the foundation of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA);
- 4. Calls on all EU governments to support the foundation of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) and become founding members of that Agency;
- 5. Calls on the Commission to support this initiative and to become a founding member of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA);
- 6. Instructs its President to forward this declaration, together with the names of the signatories, to the Council, the Commission and the Parliaments of the Member States.

