Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 33kWORD 18k
24 September 2020
Answer given by Mr Breton
on behalf of the European Commission
Question reference: E-003194/2020

During the COVID-19 crisis, the Commission has been working closely with Member States, the EU Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA) and other EU bodies involved in cybersecurity to step up information sharing and to ensure a high level of protection of operators of essential services and particularly of healthcare providers.

The CSIRTs network, which gathers the national Computer Security Incident Response Teams, was put in alert cooperation mode to share information on a 24/7 basis. A newly set up COVID-19 task force composed of the Commission and EU bodies(1) was preparing weekly European Sectorial Situational Awareness and Analysis reports from March until May 2020 to support national authorities and European institutions.

The directive on security of network and information systems (NIS Directive)(2) requires Member States to ensure that operators of essential services in seven critical sectors, including the health sector, take measures to ensure the cybersecurity of their IT systems. Similar provisions apply to digital service providers offering cloud services to healthcare providers.

The NIS Cooperation Group, which gathers national cybersecurity authorities with the aim to support and facilitate strategic cooperation and information sharing, has recently set up a new work stream dedicated to cybersecurity in the health sector with the support of the eHealth Network(3), the European Cybersecurity Health Group, ENISA and the Commission.

(1)ENISA, Europol (EC3), the European External Action Service (EEAS) and the Computer Emergency Response Team for the EU institutions, bodies and agencies (CERT-EU).
(3)The eHealth Network is a voluntary network created under Article 14 of Directive 2011/24/EU. It provides a platform for Member States’ competent authorities responsible for eHealth.
Last updated: 24 September 2020Legal notice - Privacy policy