Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 50kWORD 15k
19 November 2020
Answer given by Ms McGuinness
on behalf of the European Commission
Question reference: E-004674/2020

The Commission is well aware of the fact that a number of entities, including tax authorities, refuse single European payment area (SEPA) direct debits from accounts in other Member States. This is a clear breach of the SEPA Regulation(1).

Art. 10 of the SEPA Regulation mandates Member States to designate a competent authority for ensuring compliance with the regulation. It is therefore the responsibility of these competent authorities to address this practice known as ‘IBAN discrimination’.

The Commission refers systematically all complaints to the relevant national competent authorities, which are primarily responsible for the correct application of EC law.

When these are not appropriately dealt with and breaches are not remedied, the Commission reminds the national authorities of their legal obligations and if necessary launches infringement procedures. With regards to the specific case of tax authorities, an infringement procedure against one Member State is ongoing.

(1) Regulation (EU) No 260/2012 — OJ L 94, 30.3.2012, p. 22‐37
Last updated: 20 November 2020Legal notice - Privacy policy