• EN - English
  • PL - polski
Parliamentary question - E-006955/2020Parliamentary question

Lack of tax solidarity in the European Union and lack of response to the existence of domestic tax havens

Question for written answer  E-006955/2020/rev.1
to the Commission
Rule 138
Kosma Złotowski (ECR)

In 2016 an Oxfam report[1] listed the Netherlands, Ireland, Cyprus and Luxembourg as tax havens. Since 2017, when the EU list of tax havens was drawn up, no Member State has been included on it, although officially-recognised tax havens are estimated to generate 2% of global losses caused by illegal tax optimisation, while EU countries are responsible for as much as 36% of such losses. The EU treats the rules in this area on a discretionary basis and takes advantage of the lack of clear criteria and definitions, meaning that domestic tax havens can act with impunity.

Last updated: 7 January 2021
Legal notice - Privacy policy