## Question for written answer E-000277/2024 to the Commission Rule 138 Nicolás González Casares (S&D)

## Subject: Fisheries protocols

- 1. As the Commission explains, the EU currently has six 'dormant' agreements: Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Micronesia, Morocco, Mozambique and Solomon Islands. These are countries that have a fisheries agreement in force but no implementing protocol, which means that EU vessels cannot fish in their waters. In view of this, could the Commission explain what prospects there are for these dormant fishing agreements?
- 2. Moreover, 6 of the 13 sustainable fisheries agreements in place will expire this year: Cape Verde, Cook Islands, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Senegal. Could the Commission explain what it is doing to renew these protocols so to ensure that the Community fleet can continue to operate in those areas?

Submitted:30.1.2024