EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

2007/0259(COD)

20.6.2008

OPINION

of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

for the Committee on Legal Affairs

on the proposal for a directive of the European Parliament and of the Council on the contained use of genetically modified micro-organisms (Recast) (COM(2007)0736 – C6-0439/2007 – 2007/0259(COD))

Draftsman: Gyula Hegyi

AD\730490EN.doc PE404.617v03-00

EN EN



AMENDMENTS

The Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety calls on the Committee on Legal Affairs, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following amendments in its report:

Amendment 1

Proposal for a directive Article 19 - paragraph 1

Text proposed by the Commission

The Commission shall adopt the amendments necessary to adapt *Annex II*, *Part A, and* Annexes III, IV and V to technical progress and to adapt Annex II, Part C.

Amendment

The Commission shall adopt the amendments necessary to adapt Annexes *II*, III, IV and V to technical progress and to adapt Annex II, Part C.

Justification

Also amendments to Annex II, Part B should be adopted in accordance with the regulatory procedure with scrutiny.

Amendment 2

Proposal for a directive Article 20

Text proposed by the Commission

Amendment

Amendments to Annex II, Part B, shall be adopted by the Council acting by qualified majority on a proposal from the Commission.

deleted

Justification

Also amendments to Annex II, Part B should be adopted in accordance with the regulatory procedure with scrutiny. Therefore Annex II, Part B should be included in Article 19 and Article 20 should be deleted.

AD\730490EN.doc 3/4 PE404.617v03-00

PROCEDURE

| Title | Contained use of genetically modified micro-organisms (recast version) |
|--|--|
| References | COM(2007)0736 - C6-0439/2007 - 2007/0259(COD) |
| Committee responsible | JURI |
| Opinion by Date announced in plenary | ENVI 19.2.2008 |
| Drafts(wo)man Date appointed | Gyula Hegyi 6.3.2008 |
| Discussed in committee | 5.5.2008 |
| Date adopted | 3.6.2008 |
| Result of final vote | +: 55 -: 0 0: 0 |
| Members present for the final vote | Georgs Andrejevs, Margrete Auken, Liam Aylward, Pilar Ayuso, Irena Belohorská, Johannes Blokland, John Bowis, Frieda Brepoels, Martin Callanan, Dorette Corbey, Magor Imre Csibi, Chris Davies, Avril Doyle, Mojca Drčar Murko, Edite Estrela, Anne Ferreira, Matthias Groote, Françoise Grossetête, Cristina Gutiérrez-Cortines, Satu Hassi, Gyula Hegyi, Marie Anne Isler Béguin, Christa Klaß, Eija-Riitta Korhola, Peter Liese, Jules Maaten, Roberto Musacchio, Riitta Myller, Péter Olajos, Miroslav Ouzký, Vladko Todorov Panayotov, Vittorio Prodi, Frédérique Ries, Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Guido Sacconi, Carl Schlyter, Horst Schnellhardt, Richard Seeber, Kathy Sinnott, Bogusław Sonik, María Sornosa Martínez, Antonios Trakatellis, Anja Weisgerber, Åsa Westlund, Anders Wijkman, Glenis Willmott |
| Substitute(s) present for the final vote | Inés Ayala Sender, Iles Braghetto, Bairbre de Brún, Genowefa Grabowska, Rebecca Harms, Henrik Lax, Johannes Lebech, Miroslav Mikolášik, Alojz Peterle |

