EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

2008/2275(DEC)

12.2.2009

OPINION

of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of the European Chemicals Agency for the financial year 2007 (SEC(208)2359 - C6-0448/2008 - 2008/2275(DEC))

Rapporteur: Péter Olajos

AD\768520EN.doc

PA_NonLeg

EN

SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety calls on the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Expresses its satisfaction with the successful 7 months of operation of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA);
- 2. Points out that the Commission (DG ENTR) was responsible for the budgetary management of the ECHA in 2007;
- 3. Notes that 87,5 % of the ECHA budget for 2007 was committed for staff expenditure, infrastructure and other operating expenditure;
- 4. Expresses its satisfaction at the successful implementation of the Agency's activities in terms of helpdesk and technical guidance: both the REACH and IUCLID helpdesks were successfully transferred from the Commission to the ECHA in 2007 and over 600 press information and web enquiries were processed;
- 5. Expresses its concern with the considerable problems experienced in setting up the REACH IT system, problems for which the Commission is partly responsible, inter alia by not taking early corrective actions; especially given that these problems, in addition to the difficulties for the users, have led to increases in costs for the ECHA as well as reduction of work planned in other areas due to the 'work-arounds' that had to be established;
- 6. On the basis of the data available, is of the opinion that the Director of the European Chemicals Agency can be granted discharge in respect of the Implementation of the budget of the ECHA for the financial year 2007.

Date adopted	10.2.2009
Result of final vote	+: 40 -: 0 0: 1
Members present for the final vote	Adamos Adamou, Georgs Andrejevs, Pilar Ayuso, Irena Belohorská, Maria Berger, Johannes Blokland, John Bowis, Martin Callanan, Magor Imre Csibi, Chris Davies, Avril Doyle, Mojca Drčar Murko, Elisabetta Gardini, Matthias Groote, Françoise Grossetête, Satu Hassi, Gyula Hegyi, Marie Anne Isler Béguin, Christa Klaß, Eija-Riitta Korhola, Holger Krahmer, Urszula Krupa, Linda McAvan, Péter Olajos, Miroslav Ouzký, Vladko Todorov Panayotov, Vittorio Prodi, Frédérique Ries, Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Guido Sacconi, Carl Schlyter, Richard Seeber, María Sornosa Martínez, Antonios Trakatellis, Thomas Ulmer, Åsa Westlund
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Iles Braghetto, Jutta Haug, Bart Staes, Andres Tarand
Substitute(s) under Rule 178(2) present for the final vote	Emanuel Jardim Fernandes

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE