EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

2008/2186(DEC)

30.1.2009

OPINION

of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the European Union general budget for the financial year 2007 (SEC(2008)2359 – C6-0415/2008 – 2008/2186(DEC))

Section III - Commission

Rapporteur: Bárbara Dührkop Dührkop

AD\765421EN.doc

PA_NonLeg

EN

SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- Notes the low level of implementation of payments of the budget for the Area of Freedom, Security and Justice in comparison with 2006 (60.41% in 2007 and 86.26% in 2006); is aware that this is also due to the adoption in May and June 2007 of the Funds included within the Solidarity and Management of Migration Flows framework and to delays in the implementation of other specific programmes (eg: Civil Justice, Drugs Prevention and Information Programmes); points out the relative decrease in the implementation level of commitments in respect of 2006 (90.29% in comparison with 94.47% in 2006); calls on the Directorate-General for Freedom, Security and Justice to try to maximise the level of implementation of commitments and payments in 2008;
- 2. Takes note of the Court of Auditors' assessment of the supervisory checks carried out by the Commission for the European Refugee Fund II as being partially effective; takes due account of the Commission's replies in this respect;
- 3. Regrets that the descriptions of the Member States' supervisory and control systems for the External Borders Fund were provided to the Commission only in the last quarter of 2007, as this prevented the Commission from assessing the Member States' systems by the end of the year 2007.

Date adopted	29.1.2009
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & 27 \\ -: & 3 \\ 0: & 0 \end{array}$
Members present for the final vote	Mihael Brejc, Kathalijne Maria Buitenweg, Maddalena Calia, Michael Cashman, Carlos Coelho, Gérard Deprez, Bárbara Dührkop Dührkop, Armando França, Kinga Gál, Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert, Ewa Klamt, Magda Kósáné Kovács, Stavros Lambrinidis, Henrik Lax, Claude Moraes, Javier Moreno Sánchez, Martine Roure, Inger Segelström, Csaba Sógor, Vladimir Urutchev, Tatjana Ždanoka
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Edit Bauer, Marco Cappato, Koenraad Dillen, Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann, Marian-Jean Marinescu, Antonio Masip Hidalgo, Eva-Britt Svensson, Adina-Ioana Vălean, Johannes Voggenhuber

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE