

2009 - 2014

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

2010/2168(DEC)

1.3.2011

OPINION

of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights for the financial year 2009 (C7-0228/2010 - 2010/2168(DEC))

Rapporteur: Simon Busuttil

 $AD \ 858061 EN. doc$

PE454.528v03-00

PA_NonLeg

2/4

SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Is pleased to note that the Court of Auditors has been able to obtain reasonable assurances that the annual accounts of the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights for the financial year 2009 are in all material respects reliable and that the underlying transactions, taken as a whole, are legal and regular;
- 2. Takes note of the comment of the Court of Auditors that the Agency could improve its budgetary and recruitment planning, notably as regards transfers between titles, the high vacancy rate (21 %) and the high volume of appropriations carried forward; calls on the Agency to take all necessary steps to improve the situation;
- 3. Deplores the way in which direct framework contracts have been awarded; notes the improvements which have been made by the Agency to avoid the recurrence of similar situations, specifically in improving the programming and monitoring of its contracts;
- 4. Notes that the discharge for the implementation of the budget for the Agency should be further based on its performance throughout the year.

Date adopted	28.2.2011
Result of final vote	+: 37 -: 1 0: 0
Members present for the final vote	Sonia Alfano, Alexander Alvaro, Rita Borsellino, Emine Bozkurt, Simon Busuttil, Carlos Coelho, Cornelis de Jong, Agustín Díaz de Mera García Consuegra, Kinga Gál, Kinga Göncz, Nathalie Griesbeck, Sylvie Guillaume, Ágnes Hankiss, Salvatore Iacolino, Sophia in 't Veld, Lívia Járóka, Teresa Jiménez-Becerril Barrio, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Monica Luisa Macovei, Véronique Mathieu, Louis Michel, Claude Moraes, Georgios Papanikolaou, Judith Sargentini, Birgit Sippel, Renate Sommer, Rui Tavares, Wim van de Camp, Daniël van der Stoep, Axel Voss, Renate Weber, Tatjana Ždanoka
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Edit Bauer, Leonidas Donskis, Monika Hohlmeier, Stanimir Ilchev, Franziska Keller
Substitute(s) under Rule 187(2) present for the final vote	Marina Yannakoudakis

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE