

2009 - 2014

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

2010/2169(DEC)

1.3.2011

OPINION

of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction for the financial year 2009 (C7-0229/2010 – 2010/2169(DEC))

Rapporteur: Simon Busuttil

AD\858062EN.doc PE454.529v03-00

 PA_NonLeg



SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Is pleased to note that the Court of Auditors has been able to obtain reasonable assurances that the annual accounts of the Centre for the financial year 2009 are in all material respects, reliable and that the underlying transactions, taken as a whole, are legal and regular;
- 2. Takes note of the comments of the Court of Auditors as regards carry forwards and of the Centre's reply in this regard; calls on the Centre to continue its efforts to reduce carry forwards to the minimum necessary and to improve the planning and programming of its activities;
- 3. Calls for clarification of the applicable rules on internal assigned revenues in the light of the questions which were raised after the refund of part of the accumulated surplus of the Translation Centre to the Centre; notes the Centre's response pointing out that a number of agencies are faced with the same problem; suggests that in future a joint approach should be taken to this type of horizontal problem;
- 4. Notes that the discharge for the implementation of the budget for the Centre should be further based on its performance throughout the year.

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE

Date adopted	28.2.2011
Result of final vote	+: 37 -: 1 0: 0
Members present for the final vote	Sonia Alfano, Alexander Alvaro, Rita Borsellino, Emine Bozkurt, Simon Busuttil, Carlos Coelho, Cornelis de Jong, Agustín Díaz de Mera García Consuegra, Kinga Gál, Kinga Göncz, Nathalie Griesbeck, Sylvie Guillaume, Ágnes Hankiss, Salvatore Iacolino, Sophia in 't Veld, Lívia Járóka, Teresa Jiménez-Becerril Barrio, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Monica Luisa Macovei, Véronique Mathieu, Louis Michel, Claude Moraes, Georgios Papanikolaou, Judith Sargentini, Birgit Sippel, Renate Sommer, Rui Tavares, Wim van de Camp, Daniël van der Stoep, Axel Voss, Renate Weber, Tatjana Ždanoka
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Edit Bauer, Leonidas Donskis, Monika Hohlmeier, Stanimir Ilchev, Franziska Keller
Substitute(s) under Rule 187(2) present for the final vote	Marina Yannakoudakis

