

2009 - 2014

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

2011/2209(DEC)

10.2.2012

OPINION

of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of the European Data Protection Supervisor for the financial year 2010 (C7-0264/2011 - 2011/2209(DEC))

Rapporteur: Simon Busuttil

AD\891900EN.doc PE478.348v02-00



SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Welcomes the conclusion of the Court of Auditors that the payments as a whole for the year ended 31 December 2010 for administrative and other expenditure of the European Data Protection Supervisor (EDPS) were free from material error and that the supervisory and control systems for administrative and other expenditure were effective in ensuring the regularity of payments;
- 2. Notes the Court of Auditors' comment on the organisation of an internal competition and the EDPS' reply; reiterates that competitions organised by the European Personnel Selection Office should remain the norm for recruiting staff; calls on the EDPS to strengthen its human resources planning in order to avoid similar situations from arising again;
- 3. Notes and supports the measures which have been taken for the timely monitoring of documents attesting to EDPS staff's individual circumstances, for the purpose of social benefits:
- 4. Notes that discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of EDPS should continue to be based on its performance throughout the year.

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE

Date adopted	9.2.2012
Result of final vote	+: 50 -: 0 0: 1
Members present for the final vote	Jan Philipp Albrecht, Sonia Alfano, Emine Bozkurt, Arkadiusz Tomasz Bratkowski, Simon Busuttil, Carlos Coelho, Rosario Crocetta, Ioan Enciu, Frank Engel, Cornelia Ernst, Monika Flašíková Beňová, Hélène Flautre, Kinga Gál, Kinga Göncz, Nathalie Griesbeck, Sylvie Guillaume, Anna Hedh, Salvatore Iacolino, Sophia in 't Veld, Lívia Járóka, Teresa Jiménez-Becerril Barrio, Timothy Kirkhope, Monica Luisa Macovei, Svetoslav Hristov Malinov, Véronique Mathieu, Anthea McIntyre, Nuno Melo, Louis Michel, Antigoni Papadopoulou, Georgios Papanikolaou, Jacek Protasiewicz, Carmen Romero López, Csaba Sógor, Axel Voss, Renate Weber, Josef Weidenholzer, Cecilia Wikström, Tatjana Ždanoka, Auke Zijlstra
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Alexander Alvaro, Edit Bauer, Anna Maria Corazza Bildt, Cornelis de Jong, Ana Gomes, Petru Constantin Luhan, Ulrike Lunacek, Hubert Pirker, Raül Romeva i Rueda, Kārlis Šadurskis
Substitute(s) under Rule 187(2) present for the final vote	Elisabeth Morin-Chartier, Antonyia Parvanova

