Full text 
Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - Strasbourg

(The sitting was suspended at 12.40 and resumed at 15.05.)


9. Debate on the future of Europe (debate)
Verbatim reports

Debate on the future of Europe with the participation of Fredrik Reinfeldt, Prime Minister of Sweden, Member of the European Council.

The President made a brief statement introducing the debate and welcomed Simeon Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, former Prime Minister of Bulgaria, who had taken his place in the gallery.

The following spoke: Fredrik Reinfeldt, Prime Minister of Sweden.

The following spoke: Joseph Daul, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Martin Schulz, on behalf of the PSE Group, Graham Watson, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Cristiana Muscardini, on behalf of the UEN Group, Monica Frassoni, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Francis Wurtz, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Hélène Goudin, on behalf of the IND/DEM Group, Jean-Marie Le Pen, Non-attached Member, Gunnar Hökmark, Inger Segelström, Olle Schmidt, Ģirts Valdis Kristovskis, Carl Schlyter, Eva-Britt Svensson, Paul Marie Coûteaux, László Tőkés, Giles Chichester, Libor Rouček, Lena Ek, Konrad Szymański, Ian Hudghton, Nils Lundgren, Philip Claeys, Jerzy Buzek, Jan Andersson, Henrik Lax, Christian Rovsing and Toomas Savi.

The following spoke under the 'catch-the-eye' procedure: Reinhard Rack, Richard Corbett, Agnes Schierhuber, Esko Seppänen, Genowefa Grabowska, Zita Pleštinská and Ioannis Varvitsiotis.

The following spoke: Fredrik Reinfeldt.

The following spoke: Carl Schlyter, on the conduct of the 'catch-the-eye' procedure.

The debate closed.

Legal notice - Privacy policy