Full text 
Procedure : 2012/2145(INI)
Document stages in plenary
Select a document :

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 12/12/2012 - 11
CRE 12/12/2012 - 11

Votes :

PV 13/12/2012 - 11.3
CRE 13/12/2012 - 11.3
Explanations of votes
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Wednesday, 12 December 2012 - Strasbourg

11. Annual report on human rights and democracy in the world 2011 and the European Union's policy on the matter - EU's human rights strategy (debate)
Verbatim reports

Report on the annual report on Human Rights and Democracy in the World 2011 and the European Union's policy on the matter [2012/2145(INI)] - Committee on Foreign Affairs. Rapporteur: Leonidas Donskis (A7-0377/2012)

Report on the review of the EU's human rights strategy [2012/2062(INI)] - Committee on Foreign Affairs. Rapporteur: Rui Tavares (A7-0378/2012)

Leonidas Donskis and Rui Tavares introduced the reports.

The following spoke: Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis (President-in-Office of the Council on behalf of the Vice-President of the Commission and High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy).

The following spoke: Alf Svensson (rapporteur for the opinion of the DEVE Committee), Edvard Kožušník (rapporteur for the opinion of the DEVE Committee), Mariya Gabriel (rapporteur for the opinion of the FEMM Committee), László Tőkés, on behalf of the PPE Group, Raimon Obiols, on behalf of the S&D Group, Metin Kazak, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Nicole Kiil-Nielsen, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Charles Tannock, on behalf of the ECR Group, Nikolaos Salavrakos, on behalf of the EFD Group, Paul Murphy, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Philip Claeys, non-attached Member, Kinga Gál, Jörg Leichtfried, Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Barbara Lochbihler, Konrad Szymański, William (The Earl of) Dartmouth, who also replied to two blue-card questions by Sarah Ludford and Jörg Leichtfried, Auke Zijlstra, Francisco José Millán Mon, Richard Howitt, Sarah Ludford, Oldřich Vlasák, Frank Vanhecke, Jean Roatta, Ana Gomes, Bas Belder, Andrzej Grzyb, Joanna Senyszyn, Ivo Vajgl, Eduard Kukan, Maria Eleni Koppa, Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Pino Arlacchi, Jarosław Wałęsa and Elisabeth Jeggle.

The following spoke under the 'catch-the-eye' procedure: Danuta Jazłowiecka, Pier Antonio Panzeri, Andrew Henry William Brons, Elena Băsescu, Antigoni Papadopoulou, Franz Obermayr and Oreste Rossi.

The following spoke: Bernd Posselt on the electronic display in the Chamber.

The following spoke: Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis.


The following spoke: Leonidas Donskis and Rui Tavares.

The debate closed.

Vote: minutes of 13.12.2012, item 11.3 and minutes of 13.12.2012, item 11.4.

Legal notice - Privacy policy