Full text 
Procedure : 2015/2229(INI)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : A8-0344/2015

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 16/12/2015 - 15
CRE 16/12/2015 - 15

Votes :

PV 17/12/2015 - 9.9
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Wednesday, 16 December 2015 - Strasbourg

15. Annual report on human rights and democracy in the world 2014 and the EU policy on the matter (debate)

Report on the Annual Report on Human Rights and Democracy in the World 2014 and the European Union’s policy on the matter [2015/2229(INI)] - Committee on Foreign Affairs. Rapporteur: Cristian Dan Preda (A8-0344/2015)

Cristian Dan Preda introduced the report.

The following spoke: Christos Stylianides (Member of the Commission).

The following spoke: Doru-Claudian Frunzulică (rapporteur for the opinion of the DEVE Committee), Andrzej Grzyb, on behalf of the PPE Group, Pier Antonio Panzeri, on behalf of the S&D Group, Hans-Olaf Henkel, on behalf of the ECR Group, who also replied to a blue-card question by Tibor Szanyi, Hans-Olaf Henkel, on behalf of the ECR Group, Petras Auštrevičius, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Marie-Christine Vergiat, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Barbara Lochbihler, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, who declined to take a blue-card question by Bernd Lucke, Fabio Massimo Castaldo, on behalf of the EFDD Group, Gilles Lebreton, on behalf of the ENF Group, Udo Voigt, non-attached Member, Davor Ivo Stier, Elena Valenciano, Charles Tannock, Marietje Schaake, who also replied to a blue-card question by Bernd Lucke, and Takis Hadjigeorgiou.

The President welcomed Cardinal Gerhard Ludwig Müller, Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, who was in the official visitors' gallery.

The following spoke: Jordi Sebastià, James Carver, who also replied to a blue-card question by Charles Tannock, Marie-Christine Arnautu, Krisztina Morvai, Francisco José Millán Mon and Josef Weidenholzer.


The following spoke: Anna Elżbieta Fotyga, Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea, who also replied to a blue-card question by Elena Valenciano, Lola Sánchez Caldentey, Ernest Maragall, Ignazio Corrao, Matteo Salvini, Georgios Epitideios, Eduard Kukan, Richard Howitt, Bas Belder, Charles Goerens, Marina Albiol Guzmán, Peter Lundgren, Ramona Nicole Mănescu, Liliana Rodrigues, Marek Jurek, Ivo Vajgl, László Tőkés, Arne Lietz, Monica Macovei, Urmas Paet, Mariya Gabriel, Ana Gomes, Mirosław Piotrowski, Andrej Plenković, Andi Cristea, Pavel Svoboda, who also replied to a blue-card question by Gianluca Buonanno, Francisco Assis, Dubravka Šuica, Kashetu Kyenge, Barbara Matera, Elly Schlein, Jiří Pospíšil, Afzal Khan and Gilles Pargneaux.

The following spoke under the catch-the-eye procedure: Marijana Petir, Notis Marias, Ivan Jakovčić, Alessandra Mussolini, Bronis Ropė, Patricija Šulin and Heidi Hautala.

The following spoke: Christos Stylianides and Cristian Dan Preda.

The debate closed.

Vote: minutes of 17.12.2015, item 9.9.

Legal notice - Privacy policy