Full text 
Procedure : 2016/0231(COD)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : A8-0208/2017

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 13/06/2017 - 3
CRE 13/06/2017 - 3
PV 16/04/2018 - 20
CRE 16/04/2018 - 20

Votes :

PV 14/06/2017 - 8.1
CRE 14/06/2017 - 8.1
Explanations of votes
PV 17/04/2018 - 6.6
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Tuesday, 13 June 2017 - Strasbourg

3. Binding annual greenhouse gas emission reductions to meet commitments under the Paris Agreement ***I (debate)

Report on the proposal for a regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council on binding annual greenhouse gas emission reductions by Member States from 2021 to 2030 for a resilient Energy Union and to meet commitments under the Paris Agreement and amending Regulation (EU) No 525/2013 of the European Parliament and the Council on a mechanism for monitoring and reporting greenhouse gas emissions and other information relevant to climate change [COM(2016)0482 - C8-0331/2016 - 2016/0231(COD)] - Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety. Rapporteur: Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy (A8-0208/2017)

Catherine Bearder (deputising for the rapporteur) introduced the report.

The following spoke: Miguel Arias Cañete (Member of the Commission).

The following spoke: Merja Kyllönen (rapporteur for the opinion of the TRAN Committee), Nicola Caputo (rapporteur for the opinion of the AGRI Committee), Pilar Ayuso, on behalf of the PPE Group, Miriam Dalli, on behalf of the S&D Group, Jadwiga Wiśniewska, on behalf of the ECR Group, Nils Torvalds, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Kateřina Konečná, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Bas Eickhout, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, and Julia Reid, on behalf of the EFDD Group.


The following spoke: Mireille D'Ornano, on behalf of the ENF Group, Eleftherios Synadinos, Peter Liese, Simona Bonafè, Jørn Dohrmann, Jan Huitema, Estefanía Torres Martínez, Eleonora Evi, Mairead McGuinness, Christine Revault d'Allonnes Bonnefoy, Mark Demesmaeker, Fredrick Federley, Luke Ming Flanagan, Giovanni La Via, who also replied to a blue-card question by Tibor Szanyi, Daciana Octavia Sârbu, Norbert Lins, Jo Leinen, Carlos Zorrinho and Christel Schaldemose.

The following spoke under the catch-the-eye procedure: José Inácio Faria, Maria Grapini, Notis Marias, Andrzej Grzyb and Seán Kelly.

The following spoke: Miguel Arias Cañete and Catherine Bearder.

The debate closed.

Vote: minutes of 14.6.2017, item 8.1.

(The sitting was suspended at 11.20.)

Legal notice - Privacy policy