Full text 
Monday, 16 April 2018 - Strasbourg

5. Composition of Parliament

The Polish and Swedish authorities had given notice of the election of Dobromir Sośnierz and Aleksander Gabelic as Members of the European Parliament with effect from 22 March and 4 April 2018, to replace Janusz Korwin-Mikke and Jens Nilsson, respectively.

Parliament took note of their election.

Under Rule 3(2), until such time as their credentials had been verified or a ruling had been given on any dispute, and provided that they had previously made a written declaration stating that they did not hold any office incompatible with that of Member of the European Parliament, Dobromir Sośnierz et Aleksander Gabelic would take their seats in Parliament and on its bodies and would enjoy all the rights attaching thereto.

° ° °

Gianni Pittella and Matteo Salvini had informed the President of their election to the Senate of the Italian Republic, and Lorenzo Fontana had informed him of his election as a member of the Italian Chamber of Deputies, all three appointments having effect from 23 March 2018.

Parliament noted that, pursuant to Article 7(1) and (2) of the Act concerning the election of the members of the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage, the aforementioned Members had been appointed to posts incompatible with that of Member of the European Parliament, and declared the seats of Gianni Pittella, Matteo Salvini and Lorenzo Fontana vacant with effect from 23 March 2018, and informed the Italian authorities of this.

° ° °

Jean-Paul Denanot had given notice in writing of his resignation as Member of Parliament, with effect from 11 June 2018.

In accordance with Rule 4(1) and (2), Parliament established this vacancy and informed the Member State concerned.

Last updated: 22 October 2018Legal notice - Privacy policy