Full text 
Procedure : 2017/2131(INL)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : A8-0250/2018

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 11/09/2018 - 11
CRE 11/09/2018 - 11

Votes :

PV 12/09/2018 - 6.7
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Tuesday, 11 September 2018 - Strasbourg

11. The situation in Hungary (debate)

Report on a proposal calling on the Council to determine, pursuant to Article 7(1) of the Treaty on European Union, the existence of a clear risk of a serious breach by Hungary of the values on which the Union is founded [2017/2131(INL)] - Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. Rapporteur: Judith Sargentini (A8-0250/2018)

Judith Sargentini introduced the report.

The following spoke: Ingeborg Gräßle (rapporteur for the opinion of the CONT Committee), Petra Kammerevert (rapporteur for the opinion of the CULT Committee), Maite Pagazaurtundúa Ruiz (rapporteur for the opinion of the AFCO Committee) and Maria Noichl (rapporteur for the opinion of the FEMM Committee).

The following spoke: Karoline Edtstadler (President-in-Office of the Council) and Frans Timmermans (First Vice-President of the Commission).

The following spoke: Viktor Orbán (Prime Minister of Hungary).

The following spoke: Manfred Weber, on behalf of the PPE Group, Udo Bullmann, on behalf of the S&D Group, Ryszard Antoni Legutko, on behalf of the ECR Group, Guy Verhofstadt, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Philippe Lamberts, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Marie-Christine Vergiat, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Nigel Farage, on behalf of the EFDD Group, Nicolas Bay, on behalf of the ENF Group, Krisztina Morvai, non-attached Member, József Szájer, Josef Weidenholzer, Marek Jurek, Sophia in 't Veld, Romeo Franz, Jörg Meuthen, Auke Zijlstra, Zoltán Balczó, Roberta Metsola, Tanja Fajon, Branislav Škripek, Nadja Hirsch, Eva Joly, Aymeric Chauprade, Mara Bizzotto, Malin Björk, James Carver, on the speech by Romeo Franz, Othmar Karas, István Ujhelyi, Jussi Halla-aho, Bernard Monot, Harald Vilimsky, Kinga Gál, Cécile Kashetu Kyenge, Monica Macovei, Frank Engel, Iratxe García Pérez, Anders Primdahl Vistisen, Seán Kelly, Christine Revault d'Allonnes Bonnefoy, Peter Lundgren, Lívia Járóka, Péter Niedermüller, Anna Maria Corazza Bildt, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Ádám Kósa, Patrizia Toia, Anna Záborská, Michał Boni, Milan Zver and Lívia Járóka, on the speech by James Carver (the President gave details).

The following spoke under the catch-the-eye procedure: Marijana Petir, Julie Ward, Luke Ming Flanagan, Mario Borghezio, Lampros Fountoulis, Elisabetta Gardini and Maria Grapini.

The following spoke: Viktor Orbán, Frans Timmermans, Karoline Edtstadler and Judith Sargentini.

The debate closed.

Vote: minutes of 12.9.2018, item 6.7.


Last updated: 29 November 2018Legal notice - Privacy policy