Full text 
Procedure : 2011/2838(RSO)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : B7-0619/2011

Texts tabled :


Debates :

Votes :

PV 14/12/2011 - 7.5
Explanations of votes
Explanations of votes
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Texts adopted
PDF 109kWORD 32k
Wednesday, 14 December 2011 - Strasbourg
Numerical strength of standing committees

European Parliament decision of 14 December 2011 on the numerical strength of the standing committees (2011/2838(RSO))

The European Parliament,

–  having regard to the proposal by the Conference of Presidents,

–  having regard to its decision of 15 July 2009 on the numerical strength of the committees(1),

–  having regard to Rule 183 of its Rules of Procedure,

A.  whereas there is a need for continuity in its business,

B.  whereas, following the entry into force of the protocol amending Protocol No 36 on transitional provisions, new Members are entitled to sit in the European Parliament and on its bodies in full enjoyment of their rights,

1.  Decides to amend the number of members of parliamentary committees as follows:


Committee on Foreign Affairs: 76 members


Committee on Development: 30 members


Committee on International Trade: 29 members


Committee on Budgets: 44 members


Committee on Budgetary Control: 30 members


Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs: 48 members


Committee on Employment and Social Affairs: 51 members


Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety: 68 members


Committee on Industry, Research and Energy: 60 members


Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection: 41 members


Committee on Transport and Tourism: 46 members


Committee on Regional Development: 50 members


Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development: 44 members


Committee on Fisheries: 24 members


Committee on Culture and Education: 32 members


Committee on Legal Affairs: 25 members


Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs: 60 members


Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 25 members


Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality: 35 members


Committee on Petitions: 35 members


and to amend the number of members of parliamentary subcommittees as follows:


Subcommittee on Human Rights: 31 members


Subcommittee on Security and Defence: 31 members

   2. Decides, with reference to the decision of the Conference of Presidents of 9 July 2009 relating to the composition of Committee Bureaux, that the Committee Bureaux may consist of up to four vice-chairs;
   3. Instructs its President to forward this decision to the Council and the Commission, for information.

(1) OJ C 224 E, 19.8.2010, p. 34.

Legal notice - Privacy policy