Full text 
Texts adopted
PDF 109kWORD 42k
Tuesday, 16 July 2019 - Strasbourg
Election of the President of the Commission

European Parliament decision of 16 July 2019 on the election of the President of the Commission (2019/2041(INS))

The European Parliament,

–  having regard to the first subparagraph of Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union,

–  having regard to Article 106a of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

–  having regard to Declaration No 11 annexed to the Final Act of the Intergovernmental Conference which adopted the Treaty of Lisbon,

–  having regard to European Council Decision (EU) 2019/1136 of 2 July 2019(1), proposing Ursula von der Leyen as candidate for President of the Commission,

–  having regard to Ursula von der Leyen’s statement and the presentation of her political guidelines made in plenary sitting on 16 July 2019,

–  having regard to Rule 124 of its Rules of Procedure,

1.  Elects Ursula von der Leyen as the President of the Commission for the term of office running from 1 November 2019 until 31 October 2024;

2.  Instructs its President to ask the Council and Ursula von der Leyen to propose by common accord the nominees for appointment as members of the Commission;

3.  Instructs its President to forward this decision to the European Council and the Council and to the President-elect of the Commission.

(1) OJ L 179I, 3.7.2019, p. 2.

Last updated: 8 October 2019Legal notice - Privacy policy