EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on Transport and Tourism

2008/2186(DEC)

18.2.2009

OPINION

of the Committee on Transport and Tourism

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the European Union general budget for the financial year 2007 (SEC(2008)2359 – C6-0415/2008 – 2008/2186(DEC))

Section III - Commission

Rapporteur: Luca Romagnoli

 $AD \ 764661 EN. doc$

PA_NonLeg

EN

SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Transport and Tourism calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Notes that in the 2007 budget, as finally adopted and amended in the course of that year, a total of EUR 1 322 667 000 was included for transport policies in commitment appropriations, and that EUR 743 111 000 was available in payment appropriations; notes further that of these amounts:
 - EUR 933 578 000 was available in commitment appropriations and EUR 369 665 000 in payment appropriations for Trans-European Networks for Transport (TEN-T) projects,
 - EUR 15 348 000 was available in commitments and EUR 14 500 000 in payments for transport safety,
 - EUR 56 890 000 was available in commitments and EUR 10 425 000 in payments for the Marco Polo programme,
 - EUR 113 631 000 was available in commitments and EUR 114 716 000 in payments for the transport agencies and the Galileo Supervisory Authority,
 - EUR 6 000 000 was available in commitments and EUR 6 578 000 in payments for transport security, including the pilot project on security on the trans-European road network;
- 2. Welcomes the continuing high utilisation rates of both commitment and payment appropriations for TEN-T projects, both reaching almost 100 %, and calls on Member States to ensure that adequate funding is made available from national budgets to match this EU commitment;
- 3. Notes with concern the low utilisation rate of commitment appropriations for transport security (55,95 %) and for the Galileo Supervisory Authority (33,24 % under Title 3), for which a large part of the sum made available in 2007, due to the surplus of 2006, was carried over to 2008; notes with concern also the low utilisation rate of payment appropriations for the internal market and optimisation of transport systems (47,48 %), for passenger rights (58,96 %), due to the delay in signature of contracts, and for the Galileo Supervisory Authority (33,24 % under Title 3);
- 4. Notes with satisfaction that, as a result of reactions to the Court of Auditors' Special Report No 6/2005 on the trans-European network for transport¹, the maximum rate of financial aid for cross-border projects has increased to 30 % and the minimum funding threshold to EUR 1 500 000; notes furthermore that the evaluation procedure for the selection of projects has been improved and monitoring has been enhanced, but regrets at

¹ OJ C 94, 21.4.2006, p. 1.

the same time that the structure for the description of works has not been harmonised and technical and financial monitoring has not been standardised;

- 5. Notes with satisfaction that the Court of Auditors' analysis of internal control standards with a direct link to the legality and regularity of underlying transactions shows that the Directorate-General for Energy and Transport complies with the baseline requirements;
- 6. Proposes that, in relation to the sectors for which the Committee on Transport and Tourism is responsible, Parliament grant the Commission discharge in respect of the implementation of the European Union general budget for the financial year 2007.

RESULT	OF FINAL	VOTE IN	COMMITTEE	

Date adopted	17.2.2009	
Result of final vote	+: 36 -: 2 0: 0	
Members present for the final vote	Gabriele Albertini, Etelka Barsi-Pataky, Paolo Costa, Michael Cramer, Luis de Grandes Pascual, Arūnas Degutis, Saïd El Khadraoui, Emanuel Jardim Fernandes, Francesco Ferrari, Georg Jarzembowski, Stanisław Jałowiecki, Timothy Kirkhope, Jaromír Kohlíček, Sepp Kusstatscher, Jörg Leichtfried, Bogusław Liberadzki, Eva Lichtenberger, Marian- Jean Marinescu, Erik Meijer, Josu Ortuondo Larrea, Reinhard Rack, Ulrike Rodust, Luca Romagnoli, Brian Simpson, Renate Sommer, Dirk Sterckx, Ulrich Stockmann, Michel Teychenné, Silvia-Adriana Țicău	
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Zsolt László Becsey, Johannes Blokland, Philip Bradbourn, Luigi Cocilovo, Jas Gawronski, Pedro Guerreiro, Lily Jacobs, Rosa Miguélez Ramos, Corien Wortmann-Kool	