Understanding the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly

The Euronest Parliamentary Assembly is a parliamentary forum to promote political association and further economic integration between the European Union and the EU's Eastern European partners.

Euronest strengthens and develops the Eastern Partnership; it is responsible for parliamentary consultation, supervision and monitoring. 

Who takes part in Euronest?

The Euronest Parliamentary Assembly consists of a delegation from the European Parliament and delegations from the EU's Eastern European Partners - countries that participate in the Eastern Partnership initiative: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. The European Parliament has 60 delegates, and the Eastern Partners have 10 each.

For the time being, Belarus does not take part in the Assembly's activities for political reasons. However, as the two components of the Assembly have agreed, Belarus's members will be welcomed once the country has fulfilled the political requirements in the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly's Constituent Act.

How does Euronest work?

The Euronest Parliamentary Assembly includes the plenary, chaired by two Co-Presidents, the Bureau, four standing committees and several working groups. Recently, a Euronest Women's Forum has also started to meet informally on the fringes of the plenary sessions.

How often does it meet?

The Euronest PA meets once a year for a plenary session, alternating between an Eastern European Partner country and the European Parliament (in its buildings in Brussels, Luxembourg or Strasbourg).

The standing committees of the Euronest PA meet twice per year, also alternating, in principle, between the European Parliament and the Eastern Partners' countries. One of the committees' two annual meetings takes place in parallel with the plenary session.

The working groups meet on an occasional basis.

Which are the standing committees and the working groups?

Standing committees:

  • Committee on Political Affairs, Human Rights and Democracy,
  • Committee on Economic Integration, Legal Approximation and Convergence with EU Policies,
  • Committee on Energy Security,
  • Committee on Social Affairs, Employment, Education, Culture and Civil Society.

Working groups:

  • Working Group on Belarus,
  • Ad Hoc Working Group on Association Agreements,
  • Working Group on Rules of Procedure.