Ad hoc Working Group on candidate countries for EU accession

Photo of two persons of discussing changes to a document. Close up on the hands over the document.
© European Union (2016) - European Parliament

Ad hoc Working Group on candidate countries for EU accession

This Working Group was established in 2017 in order to:

  • identify best practices, successes and failures as well as exchange experiences between Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine in their path of implementation of the Association Agreements with the EU;
  • strengthen and share the political analyse of the possible successes and / or obstacles encountered by the concerned Eastern Partners on that path;
  • identify the best possible solutions that can be proposed in a concerted or separate effort in order to achieve the intended goal of full implementation of the Association Agreements;
  • draw up recommendations or motions for resolution to be submitted to the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly, if instructed by the Bureau.
Euronest PA Rules of Procedure Art. 27.1:"...The working groups created shall continue functioning until the EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly decides otherwise."
  • The Ad hoc Working Group on Association Agreements is composed of 18 Members:

    • 9 from the delegations of the Eastern Partner countries associated with the EU (Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine);
    • 9 from the European Parliament.

    As of December 2023, the Group included the following Members:


    • Mr Nacho SANCHEZ AMOR (Spain, S&D), representing the European Parliament
    • Mr Maka BOTCHOROSHVILI(Georgia)

    Additional Members from the European Parliament:

    • Mr Traian BĂSESCUI (Romania, EPP)
    • Mr Andrzej HALICKI (Poland, EPP)
    • Ms Marina KALJURAND (Estonia, S&D)
    • Ms Ramona STRUGARIU (Romania, Renew)
    • Ms Viola VON CRAMON (Germany, Green/EFA)
    • Ms Rosanna CONTE (Italy, ID)
    • Mr Kosma ZŁOTOWSKI (Poland/ECR)
    • Ms Anja HAZEKAMP (Netherlands, GUE/NGL)

    Additional Members from the Partner countries:

    • Mr. Levan KARUMIDZE (Georgia)
    • Ms Tamar KORDZAIA (Georgia)
    • Mr Andrian CHEPTONAR (Moldova)
    • Ms Ina COSERU (Moldova)
    • Ms Ersilia QATRAWI (Moldova)
    • Mr Ivan KRULKO (Ukraine)
    • Mr Volodymyr ARIEV (Ukraine)
    • Ms Olena VINTONIAK (Ukraine)