Main menu (press 'Enter')
Access to page content (press 'Enter')
Direct access to list of other websites (press 'Enter')

Portfolios and Candidates

European Commission, how to elect…
  1. Commissioners-designate and portfolios

    The Council appoints the 27 commissioners-designate in agreement with the elected Commission President.

    Each commissioner, one from each EU country, is assigned responsibility for a specific policy area by the Commission President.

    The Commission as a whole is subject to the European Parliament's approval.

Portfolios: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy - Vice- President
Portfolios: Better Regulation, Inter-Institutional Relations, Rule of Law and Charter of Fundamental Rights - First Vice-President of the Commission
Portfolios: Budget and Human Resources - Vice-President
Portfolios: Digital Single Market - Vice-President
Portfolios: Energy Union - Vice-President
Portfolios: Euro and Social Dialogue - Vice-President
Portfolios: Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness - Vice-President
Portfolios: Agriculture and Rural Development
Portfolios: Climate Action and Energy
Portfolios: Competition
Portfolios: Digital Economy and Society
Portfolios: Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs Union
Portfolios: Education, Culture, Youth and Citizenship
Portfolios: Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility
Portfolios: Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries
Portfolios: European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations
Portfolios: Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union
Portfolios: Health and Food Safety
Portfolios: Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management
Portfolios: Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs
Portfolios: International Cooperation and Development
Portfolios: Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality
Portfolios: Migration and Home Affairs
Portfolios: Regional Policy
Portfolios: Research, Science and Innovation
Portfolios: Trade
Portfolios: Transport
Portfolios: Energy Union - Vice-President
( Withdrawn candidature )