Sakharov Prize Laureate 2000
basta The members of Basta Ya risked their lives while fighting terrorism. The only "weapon" they had was the peaceful mobilisation of the people to protect their basic freedoms. During many years, fundamental freedoms and human rights had been under threat in the Basque country from terrorism by ETA and related groups. Thousands of people had been victims of intimidation, extortion, blackmail and attacks, with families and property also targeted. They were unable to express themselves freely or exercise their rights without taking great risks.

Basta Ya was created because basic civil liberties and human rights were under threat in the Basque Country, especially for "non-nationalist" citizens, due to ETA's terrorism and the activities of groups related to it. Its creation was also due to the increase of ethnic and xenophobic nationalism among the more moderate nationalist parties, and groups who sought to come to an agreement with ETA.

The civic initiative whose name translates to Enough is Enough, and which was granted consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council in July 2004, consisted of people who worked for basic human rights, democracy and tolerance in the Basque country.

The organisation carried out several activities amongst which stand out the two large demonstrations in San Sebastian, in February and October of 2000. They demanded the dissolution of ETA, supported the victims of terrorism and defended the Constitution and the Statute as the basis for the dignified coexistence of all Basque citizens.

Basta Ya dissolved itself in 2007. Its leaders, Carlos Martinez Gorriarán, Juan Luis Fabo, Rosa Díez and Fernando Savater created the political party Unión Progreso y Democracia (UPyD), which is fighting to maintain the unity of Spain as a country.

Fernando Savater was the intellectual leader of the movement and represented Basta Ya at the Sakharov Prize award at the EP in 2000. In 2013 he also represented Basta Ya at the Sakharov Prize Network Conference marking the 25th Anniversary of the Sakharov Prize.