skip to content

Mairead McGuinness re-elected as Vice-President of the European Parliament

Vice-President Mairead McGuinnessVice-President Mairead McGuinness
Vice-President Mairead McGuinness

Mairead McGuinness was the first of fourteen Vice-Presidents elected receiving 618 votes from a total of 702 votes cast. 

Eleven Vice-Presidents were elected in the first ballot, two in the second and the remaining one by a relative majority in the third.

The new EP Vice-Presidents, coming from six political groups and ten member states, are shown below in the order in which they were elected:


1. Mairead McGUINNESS (EPP, IE) 618 votes, round 1
2. Pedro SILVA PEREIRA (S&D, PT) 556 votes, round 1
3. Rainer WIELAND (EPP, DE) 516 votes, round 1
4. Katarina BARLEY (S&D, DE) 516 votes, round 1
5. Othmar KARAS (EPP, AT) 477 votes, round 1
6. Ewa Bożena KOPACZ (EPP, PL) 461 votes, round 1
7. Klara DOBREV (S&D, HU) 402 votes, round 1
8. Dita CHARANZOVÁ (Renew Europe, CZ) 395 votes, round 1
9. Nicola BEER (Renew Europe, DE) 363 votes, round 1
10. Lívia JÁRÓKA (EPP, HU) 349 votes, round 1
11. Heidi HAUTALA (Greens/EFA, FI) 336 votes, round 1
12. Marcel KOLAJA (Greens/EFA, CZ) 426 votes, round 2
13. Dimitrios PAPADIMOULIS (GUE/NGL, EL) 401 votes, round 2
14. Fabio Massimo CASTALDO (NI, IT) 248 votes, round 3

Election rules

Nominations are made on the same basis as for the President (Rule 15). The 14 Vice-Presidents are elected in a single ballot by an absolute majority of votes cast. If there are fewer than 14 successful candidates, a second vote is held to assign the remaining seats under the same conditions. If a third vote is necessary, a simple majority is sufficient to fill the remaining seats. (Rule 17). Vice-Presidents take precedence in the order in which they are elected and, in the event of a tie, by age. If voted by acclamation, a vote by secret ballot determines the order of precedence.

Role of Vice-Presidents

Vice-Presidents can replace the President when necessary, including to chair plenary sittings. They are also members of the European Parliament Bureau, which lays down rules for Parliament’s smooth functioning. Among its other duties, the Bureau draws up Parliament’s preliminary draft budget and decides on administrative, staff and organisational matters.

Rules of Procedure