skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Start of the new Parliamentary term

Following the recent European elections in which over 200 million European citizens voted, the European Parliament’s new legislative term will start on 2 July 2019.

The newly elected MEPs will meet for Parliament’s constituent plenary sitting in Strasbourg from 2-4 July, where the first item on the agenda will be the election of the President. 14 Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors will also be elected. Parliament will also vote on the numerical composition of its standing and sub committees.

Ireland’s outgoing MEPs

Ireland’s outgoing MEPs are:

Dublin constituency: Lynn Boylan, Nessa Childers and Brian Hayes;

Midlands-North-West: Matt Carthy, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Marian Harkin and Mairead McGuinness;

South constituency: Deirdre Clune, Brian Crowley, Seán Kelly and Liadh Ní Riada.

Ireland’s incoming MEPs

Ireland’s MEPs for the 2019-2024 legislature are:

Dublin: Ciaran Cuffe, Clare Daly and Frances Fitzgerald;

Midlands-North-West: Matt Carthy, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Mairead McGuinness and Maria Walsh;

South: Billy Kelleher, Seán Kelly, Grace O’Sullivan and Mick Wallace.

On the agenda