skip to content

Take part in our Sakharov Prize student journalism competition!

The European Parliament Liaison Office in Dublin is seeking applications for this year’s Sakharov Student Journalism prize. The competition is open to students registered in a recognised 3rd-level institution in Ireland.  Deadline for applications:  06 December 2021.  The Sakharov Prize is awarded every year by the European Parliament to honour exceptional individuals and organisations that have defended human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Are you a student?

Are you interested in human rights?

If so, you could win a trip to the European Parliament in Strasbourg in the course of 2022.

This year’s nominees include the Alexei Navalny, nominated by the EPP and Renew Europe for his courage in fighting for freedom, democracy and human rights, is a Russian opposition politician, anti-corruption activist and major political opponent of the country's president Vladimir Putin; Afghan women, nominated by S&D and the Greens/EFA for their brave fight for equality and human rights; Jeanine Áñez, nominated by the ECR, is a Bolivian politician and symbol of repression against dissidents and deprivation of due process and rule of law in Latin America;Sultana Khaya, nominated by The Left, is a Sahrawi activist and human rights defender based in the Western Sahara, promoting the right to self-determination for the Sahrawi people and Global Witness, nominated by Marie Toussaint and other 42 MEPs, is a UK-based NGO, which for more than 25 years has investigated and exposed environmental and human rights abuses in the oil, gas, mining and timber sectors, tracking money and influence through the global financial and political system.

To enter:

Simply submit a published report (published in a mainstream news outlet, student paper or student media outlet) on this year's Sakharov Prize, any of this year’s finalists or a previous winner by 06 December 2021. Entries will be accepted in any format including print, broadcast, online or a combination thereof. To enter e-mail

Sakharov Prize 2021