## EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

2008/2101(INI)

11.11.2008

## **OPINION**

of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety

for the Committee on Fisheries

on Community action in relation to whaling (2008/2101(INI))

Rapporteur: Carl Schlyter

AD\751408EN.doc

PA\_NonLeg

EN

## SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety calls on the Committee on Fisheries, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions in its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Warmly welcomes the Commission Communication of 19 December 2007 on Community action in relation to whaling (COM(2007)0823) and the position on whaling adopted by qualified majority at the Council on 5 June 2008<sup>1</sup>;supports the maintenance of the global moratorium on commercial whaling, and a ban on international commercial trade in whale products; seeks to end "scientific whaling" and supports the designation of substantial regions of ocean and seas as sanctuaries in which all whaling is indefinitely prohibited;
- 2. Considers that the tragic history of commercial whaling, combined with the numerous threats currently faced by whale populations (including, inter alia, incidental catches in fishing operations, collisions with vessels, global climate change *and ocean noise pollution*), dictates that the EU must promote, in key international fora, in a coordinated *and coherent way*, the highest level of protection for whales at a global level;
- 3. Notes that the EU Habitats Directive<sup>2</sup> defining the Community position with respect to whales (and dolphins) would not allow the resumption of commercial whaling in respect of any stock of whales in EU waters;
- 4. Considers that whaling for strictly subsistence purposes should be allowed by the International Whaling Commission (IWC) provided that it constitutes no threat to the conservation status of the stock concerned, catches remain within the scope of documented and recognised subsistence needs and no increases in currently approved levels, either in terms of numbers of whales killed or additional species taken, are agreed;
- 5. Recognises the sentience of cetaceans and the significant potential for severe and prolonged suffering caused during whaling operations; agrees that maintenance of the global moratorium on whaling is imperative with respect to animal welfare concerns, and supports proposals which aim to improve the humaneness and welfare oversight of aboriginal subsistence whaling operations;
- 6. Urges the Member States to oppose any proposals in the current negotiating process on the future of the IWC that would seek to legitimise any level of whaling, whether scientific, commercial, coastal or otherwise described, or authorise any international trade in whale products;
- 7. Urges the Member States that have not yet done so to join the IWC in order to support actions aiming at the full protection of whales.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Council Decision establishing the position to be adopted on behalf of the European Community at the 60th meeting of the IWC in 2008 with regard to proposals for amendments to the Schedule of the International Convention on the Regulation of Whaling (Council document nr. 9818/08).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Council Directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora (OJ L 206, 22.7.1992, p. 7).

Date adopted	5.11.2008
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & 47 \\ -: & 0 \\ 0: & 0 \end{array}$
Members present for the final vote	Adamos Adamou, Georgs Andrejevs, Margrete Auken, Pilar Ayuso, Johannes Blokland, John Bowis, Frieda Brepoels, Hiltrud Breyer, Martin Callanan, Dorette Corbey, Magor Imre Csibi, Avril Doyle, Mojca Drčar Murko, Edite Estrela, Anne Ferreira, Matthias Groote, Satu Hassi, Jens Holm, Caroline Jackson, Dan Jørgensen, Christa Klaß, Urszula Krupa, Marios Matsakis, Linda McAvan, Roberto Musacchio, Riitta Myller, Miroslav Ouzký, Vladko Todorov Panayotov, Vittorio Prodi, Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Daciana Octavia Sârbu, Amalia Sartori, Carl Schlyter, Richard Seeber, Bogusław Sonik, María Sornosa Martínez, Antonios Trakatellis, Thomas Ulmer, Anja Weisgerber, Glenis Willmott
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Bairbre de Brún, Christofer Fjellner, Anne Laperrouze, Johannes Lebech, Caroline Lucas, Andres Tarand, Lambert van Nistelrooij

## **RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE**