United Kingdom

9th parliamentary term John HOWARTH

Political groups

  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament - Member

National parties

  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Labour Party (United Kingdom)


  • 26-09-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Delegation for relations with the countries of South Asia


  • 02-07-2019 / 25-09-2019 : Delegation for relations with the countries of South Asia
  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Committee on Budgets


  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Committee on Budgetary Control
  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection
  • 02-07-2019 / 31-01-2020 : Delegation for relations with Palestine

Main parliamentary activities

Contributions to plenary debates

Speeches made during the plenary session and written declarations relating to plenary debates. Rules Rule 204 and 171(11)

Reports - as rapporteur

A rapporteur is appointed in the responsible parliamentary committee to draft a report on proposals of a legislative or budgetary nature, or other issues. In drafting their report, rapporteurs may consult with relevant experts and stakeholders. They are also responsible for the drafting of compromise amendments and negotiations with shadow rapporteurs. Reports adopted at committee level are then examined and voted on in plenary. Rule 55

Opinions - as shadow rapporteur

Political groups designate a shadow rapporteur for an opinion to follow progress and negotiate compromise texts with the rapporteur. Rule 215

OPINION on the draft general budget of the European Union for the financial year 2020

03-09-2019 IMCO_AD(2019)639801 PE639.801v03-00 IMCO
Svenja HAHN

Other parliamentary activities

Written questions

Members can submit a specific number of questions to the President of the European Council, the Council, the Commission and the Vice-President of the Commission/High Representative of the Union, for written answer. Rule 138, Annex III


Original signed/dated declaration archived by the European Parliament.