Extending international child abduction convention to eight new states 

EU member states should accept the accession of Gabon, Andorra, the Seychelles, Russia, Albania, Singapore, Morocco and Armenia to the Hague Child Abduction Convention, MEPs are likely to say in a debate on Tuesday and resolution to be voted on Wednesday. This would allow the convention to enter into force between these eight states and the EU and thus help to ensure the prompt return of abducted children.

The 1980 Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction governs cooperation among the contracting states to settle international child abduction cases, including a system to ensure the immediate return of abducted children to their country of habitual residence, so as to allow the judicial authorities of that country to solve the case.

All EU member states have ratified the convention.


Procedure: Consultation
2011/0441(NLE) Gabon: 2011/0443(NLE) Andorra; 2011/0444(NLE) the Seychelles; 2011/0447(NLE) Russia; 2011/0448(NLE) Albania; 2011/0450(NLE) Singapore;

2011/0451(NLE) Morocco; 2011/0452(NLE) Armenia.

Debate: Tuesday, 10 February

Vote: Wednesday, 11 February

#ChildAbduction #HagueConvention