Votes: EEA solidarity contributions and EU-Norway and EU-Iceland fisheries deals 

Financial solidarity contributions by Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to the European Economic Area and EU fisheries trade protocols with Norway and Iceland will be debated on Wednesday and put to a vote on Thursday.

The latest European Economic Area (EEA) financial mechanism agreement with the three countries and a separate EEA deal with Norway would together provide €2.8 billion in 2014-2021 “to reduce economic and social disparities” within the EEA.

The review of the EU-Iceland and EU-Norway fisheries trade protocols renews existing arrangements, with a modest quota increase for some products over the same period.

In another debate on Tuesday, MEPs will ask the Commission and the EU External Action Service about developments since Norway’s imposition in 2013 of high duties on EU cheese, lamb and beef, which Parliament viewed as a breach of the relevant trade agreement.

The two agreements and two protocols have applied provisionally applied since July and August 2016 respectively.


The EEA agreement enables Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to participate in the EU single market, with the exception of agriculture and fisheries, and the three countries contribute financially to the EEA.

The previous mechanisms expired in April 2014. In 2014-2021, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia will benefit from the two financial instruments.


Debate: Wednesday, 17 May

Vote: Thursday, 18 May 

Procedure: consent

#Norway #EEA