European Capitals of Culture 2020-2033 

The list of countries hosting the European Capitals of Culture for 2020-2033 is up for a decision by the Parliament on Tuesday.

Every year, two Member States can designate a city to be the European Capital of Culture. EU countries, candidate countries and potential candidate countries participate as well and for the first time, EFTA/EEA countries can have a Culture Capital once every three years.

The full list of countries hosting the European Capitals of Culture for the next period 2020-2033 has been agreed with the Council and will now be endorsed formally. The European Capitals of Culture aim to promote the richness and diversity of cultures and encourage citizens' sense of belonging to a common cultural area. A European Culture Capital also benefits from a cultural programme and cultural investments, which should contribute to its long-term sustainable development.

The 2017 European Capitals of Culture are:

European Capitals of Culture have already been designated until 2021:

  • 2018 – Leeuwarden (Netherlands) and Valletta (Malta)
  • 2019 – Plovdiv (Bulgaria) and Matera (Italy)
  • 2020 -  Galway (Ireland) and Rijeka (Croatia)
  • 2021 - Timișoara (Romania), Elefsina (Greece) and Novi Sad (Serbia, Candidate country)

Procedure: Co-decision (Ordinary Legislative Procedure), 1st reading


Vote: Tuesday, 13 June