Debate on violence against women and the ratification of the Istanbul Convention 

MEPs are likely to urge member states that still haven’t ratified the Council of Europe Istanbul Convention to do so, in a debate on Monday.

To date, only 17 EU member states have ratified the Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence, known as the Istanbul Convention: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. In a debate with the EU Commission and the Council, a majority of MEPs is set to urge remaining EU countries to ratify the convention as soon as possible.

The Istanbul Convention, the most comprehensive international treaty on fighting violence against women, was adopted by the Council of Europe in 2011. It entered into force in August 2014 and was signed by the EU in June 2017.


Debate: Monday, 12 March

Procedure: Council and Commission statements, without resolution

hashtags #