EU enlargement: MEPs to review Western Balkans progress made in 2018 

MEPs will discuss on Wednesday and vote on Thursday on the progress made in 2018 by five Western Balkan countries towards possible EU accession.

The European Parliament will assess the ongoing situation in Serbia, Kosovo, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Albania and Montenegro.

Out of these five countries, Serbia and Montenegro are currently conducting accession negotiations with the EU, while the Council is set to open similar talks with Albania and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia in June 2019.

The first meeting of the EU-Kosovo Stabilisation and Association Council took place in October 2016, but Kosovo has not yet received EU candidate status. Five EU countries (Spain, Slovakia, Cyprus, Romania and Greece) still do not recognise it as a sovereign independent state.

MEPs will debate the latest developments with EU Commissioner for enlargement Johannes Hahn (tbc) during the mini plenary session in Brussels on Wednesday, followed by votes on resolutions on Thursday.

Procedure: non-legislative resolutions

Debate: Wednesday, 28 November

Vote: Thursday, 29 November